Books

Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Hey Guys!

Welcome to my first book review of February Can you believe we are already over a month into 2017? I know I cant. Anyway, before I get distracted, lets get to today’s post. This weeks book is a truly incredible one. Yep, today it is the turn of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

wp-image-351338584jpg.jpeg

What a beautiful, heartbreaking story. This is one of those books that has been on my TBR for about 5 years now. Pretty much ever since it came out. But I have never picked it up. Partly because it has never felt like the right time (ironic really) and partly because I knew generally what happened in this book, and I knew it would be so heartbreaking and traumatizing. But you know what? Even though it was all those things, I am glad that I have finally read it, because it was also incredibly beautiful.

The storyline is so imaginative and painful and stunning. It isn’t like anything that I have ever read before. There is virtually no character description in this book, but that doesn’t effect it in the slightest. You still feel super connected to Conor, even though you know so little about him. You know what he feels. You understand his struggles and you understand what he is going through, even though it is pretty impossible to know what he is going through, if that makes since. He is such a brilliant character. He is just so human and real. The same goes for all the secondary characters. Everyone so clearly has these deep, throughout backgrounds that we only scrape the surface off, and it all just works so well in this story. It is absolutely brilliant.

And the story itself will leave you breathless. It gives you hope, then takes it away, only to give it to you again. And so on and so on, right until the last page. You are like Conor throughout this book. You know, deep down, what the outcome is going to be, but you don’t want to believe it. You cant bring yourself to believe it. There is something very poetic about this. It has been a long time since I have read a book that links you to the character so perfectly and deeply. It is incredible. I loved this book, even if it did make me sob uncontrollably

What made this book even better where the deep, deep messages in it. The life lessons. Being invisible isn’t the worst thing, sometimes its okay to let go, there isn’t always a good and a bad guy and so on and so on. I knew this book would have a message in it somewhere, but I wasn’t expecting there to be so many messages. All of them where important. This was just amazing.

I think that this book is just so beautiful. I kind of want to get a illustrated copy of it now. I can only imagine how stunning that would be. I also really want to see the film, although I can categorically state that I will me a crying mess by the end of it. I am so very glad that I have read this book. I feel like this is a book that everyone should read at some point in their lives.

star 55 out of 5

and there we have it. That is what I thought of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Have you read this little gem? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post, and I will see you all again soon, hopefully when I have mentally recovered from this book a little.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. Great review! I have watched the movie-adaptation, but never get to read the book (couldn’t find it here), and the storytelling is really nice! Your review made me want to read the book even more, and I’ll definitely do it as soon as I find it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment