Books

Book Review: I Hope My Voice Doesn’t Skip by Alicia Cook

Hey Guys!

Another week is over, so that can only mean one thing, that it is time for another book review! today it is the turn of another poetry collection. This time it is a collection by a poet who is fast becoming my favourite around, and that is Alicia Cook. So without further ado, here is my review for I Hope My Voice Doesn’t Skip. Let’s do this!

God I love Alicia Cook’s poetry! This woman is fast becoming my favourite poet. I absolutely love her poetry. She is the only poet that I have come across who has the ability to make me cry!

I read her previous collection, Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately, last year and I fell in love with it. this collection, while not quite as good, was still amazing. Her poetry is always so beautifully written. She tackles some really big topics in her work, such as depression and addiction, grief and sexual assault and so much more, but she does it with such dignity and grace. Every poem in this collection is incredibly moving. I think I ended up crying about 3 times while reading this book. It was just so well written.

I also love the musical element to her work. All of her poems are very lyrical anyway, but I loved that she had had some of them actually recorded as songs. I found myself happily going onto her website and listening to the song while reading each poem. It was just such a beautiful little edition to the reading experience. It really brought those poems to life.

All in all, this is a truly fantastic collection. I am so glad that I have read it and I cannot wait to read her new collection! If you haven’t read any of Cook’s poetry yet, you need to!

And there we have it. have you read this collection? What did you think about it? any poets that you think I should check out? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon

Leave a comment