Books

Books That I Am Excited For

Hey Guys!

If you follow my blog at all then you will know that every three months, I make a post called ‘Books That I Am Excited For’ where I talk all about the upcoming book releases that I am really excited for. Essentially it is a list of my highly anticipated book releases for the next few months. So, let’s do this. here are all the books being released between July 1st 2019 and September 30th.

411Zo98dJLL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Wilde Woman by Louise Pentland – July 25th

Meet Robin Wilde: mum, newly-appointed official girlfriend, make-up artist extraordinaire and general plate-spinning, life-juggling, balance-seeking badass. Or so I like to think. Everything seems to be slotting into place, not just for me but for my close-knit little world of friends and family too. Yet despite all that, I still feel like I’m blagging it. Although our lives sound great on paper, cracks are beginning to show. My best friend Lacey is struggling to bond with her baby, my lovely Auntie Kath suddenly seems distant and my daughter Lyla is finding it hard to adapt to having a man in our lives. I love that for once everybody is depending on me, but I’m starting to feel a bit overwhelmed – it’s like I have too many tabs open in my brain. Now I’ve been asked to go to the States for work, and it seems like the getaway we all need. Look out New York, me and my girls are on our way! But will the city that never sleeps make or break us?

This is the third and final instalment in the Wilde trilogy and I cannot wait for it. I have been itching to get my hands on this book ever since I finished reading the last book. it was one of my favourite books of last year. This isn’t my usual sort of book at all but I picked the first one up on a whim and I have completely fallen in love with the story. I can’t wait to see how it wraps up.

9780141375410

The Demon World by Sally Green – August 1st

The second book in The Smoke Thieves series from Sally Green – perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Game of Thrones.

After narrowly escaping the fall of Rossarb, Princess Catherine leads a rag-tag group of survivors into the barren wasteland of the Northern Plateau.

With the Brigantine army snapping at their heels, Edyon and March become separated from the group, while demon hunter Tash leads Catherine and Ambrose to an unlikely refuge – the hidden tunnels of the demon world itself. They soon find that the tunnels hold their own dangers and, while Tash travels deeper, hoping to learn more about their mysterious inhabitants, Catherine and Ambrose must return to the surface to resume the war.

But the world above is in turmoil. King Aloysius’s army has captured the Pitorian prince, Tzsayn, and is poised to overrun the whole country. To have any hope of challenging her father’s tyranny, Catherine needs to form her own army, but when danger lurks at every turn, how can she tell an ally from an enemy?

What Tash discovers in the demon tunnels could change everything, but if the message doesn’t reach Catherine in time, the war might already be lost . . .

I was lucky enough to get an arc of this book last year in a subscription box and I really enjoyed it. I had already read Green’s previous series and absolutely adored it so I had high hopes for this series and while it didn’t quiet live up to my expectations I still really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see where the story is going to go next.

38330596

The Storm Crow by Kalyn Josephson – August 1st

In the tropical kingdom of Rhodaire, magical, elemental Crows are part of every aspect of life…until the Illucian empire invades, destroying everything.

That terrible night has thrown Princess Anthia into a deep depression. Her sister Caliza is busy running the kingdom after their mother’s death, but all Thia can do is think of all she has lost.

But when Caliza is forced to agree to a marriage between Thia and the crown prince of Illucia, Thia is finally spurred into action. And after stumbling upon a hidden Crow egg in the rubble of a rookery, she and her sister devise a dangerous plan to hatch the egg in secret and get back what was taken from them.

I have been seeing this book all over bookstagram for the longest time and it sounds really interesting, plus it looks stunning. I haven’t heard much about what people think of it but I am intrigued by it. hopefully I will really enjoy it.

36472241._SY475_

Ziggy, Stardust and Me by James Brandon – September 1st

The year is 1973. The Watergate hearings are in full swing. The Vietnam War is still raging. And homosexuality is still officially considered a mental illness. In the midst of these trying times is sixteen-year-old Jonathan Collins, a bullied, anxious, asthmatic kid, who aside from an alcoholic father and his sympathetic neighbor and friend Starla, is completely alone. To cope, Jonathan escapes to the safe haven of his imagination, where his hero David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust and dead relatives, including his mother, guide him through the rough terrain of his life. In his alternate reality, Jonathan can be anything: a superhero, an astronaut, Ziggy Stardust, himself, or completely “normal” and not a boy who likes other boys. When he completes his treatments, he will be normal–at least he hopes. But before that can happen, Web stumbles into his life. Web is everything Jonathan wishes he could be: fearless, fearsome and, most importantly, not ashamed of being gay.

Jonathan doesn’t want to like brooding Web, who has secrets all his own. Jonathan wants nothing more than to be “fixed” once and for all. But he’s drawn to Web anyway. Web is the first person in the real world to see Jonathan completely and think he’s perfect. Web is a kind of escape Jonathan has never known. For the first time in his life, he may finally feel free enough to love and accept himself as he is.

A poignant coming-of-age tale, Ziggy, Stardust and Me heralds the arrival of a stunning and important new voice in YA.

This just sounds incredible. simple as. And it is getting really good reviews as well. i have a feeling that this is going to be one of those truly brilliant books that I completely fall in love with. I can’t wait to read it

51fEbAnArXL._SX349_BO1,204,203,200_

Loki: Where Mischief Lies by Mackenzi Lee – September 3rd

Before the days of going toe-to-toe with the Avengers, a younger Loki is desperate to prove himself heroic and capable, while it seems everyone around him suspects him of inevitable villainy and depravity . . . except for Amora. Asgard’s resident sorceress-in-training feels like a kindred spirit-someone who values magic and knowledge, who might even see the best in him. 
But when Loki and Amora cause the destruction of one of Asgard’s most prized possessions, Amora is banished to Earth, where her powers will slowly and excruciatingly fade to nothing. Without the only person who ever looked at his magic as a gift instead of a threat, Loki slips further into anguish and the shadow of his universally adored brother, Thor.
When Asgardian magic is detected in relation to a string of mysterious murders on Earth, Odin sends Loki to investigate. As he descends upon nineteenth-century London, Loki embarks on a journey that leads him to more than just a murder suspect, putting him on a path to discover the source of his power-and who he’s meant to be.

I absolutely adore Loki, always have done, always will. And I love the MCU’s version of him. the second I heard about this book I knew that I needed it in my life. I don’t know if I can wait until September!

51Vf9pD9ZrL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Tunnel Of Bones by Victoria Schwab – September 3rd

Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass’s parents are filming their TV show about the world’s most haunted cities. Sure, it’s fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there’s true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs.

When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter — and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger.

And if Cass fails, the force she’s unleashed could haunt the city forever.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab returns to the spooky and heart-pounding world of City of Ghosts, delivering thrilling new adventures and an unforgettable spin on friendship. (Because sometimes, even psychic ghost best friends have secrets. . .)

I am so excited for this book. I really liked the first book, even if it did get pretty mixed reviews. I have been eagerly awaiting this book for ages. I can’t wait to finally read it.

51yZTMOXmvL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff – September 5th

Mia Corvere, gladiatii, escaped slave and infamous assassin, is on the run.

After the greatest games in Godsgrave’s history ended with the most audacious murders in the history of the Itreyan Republic, Mia finds herself pursued by Blades of the Red Church and soldiers of the Luminatii legion. She may never escape the City of Bridges and Bones alive.

Her mentor Mercurio is now in the clutches of her enemies. Her own family wishes her dead. And her nemesis, Consul Julius Scaeva, stands but a breath from total dominance over the Republic.

But beneath the city, a dark secret awaits. Together with her lover Ashlinn, brother Jonnen and a mysterious benefactor returned from beyond the veil of death, she must undertake a perilous journey across the Republic, seeking the final answer to the riddle of her life. Truedark approaches.

Night is falling on the Republic for perhaps the final time.

This is the final instalment in the Nevernight series. I admit that as of this moment I have only read the first book, but I am determined to get Godsgrave read before this book comes out. this series is just so incredible and I need to read it!

71x4baXyxvL

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood – September 10th

And so I step up, into the darkness within; or else the light.

When the van door slammed on Offred’s future at the end of The Handmaid’s Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead.

With The Testaments, the wait is over.

Margaret Atwood’s sequel picks up the story 15 years after Offred stepped into the unknown, with the explosive testaments of three female narrators from Gilead.

I read The Handmaid’s Tale a few years ago for collage and I really enjoyed it. a lot more then I was ever expecting too. it isn’t the sort of book that I usually go for. But it left off in such an unsatisfactory way. I am so glad that it is finally getting a sequel but I am also slightly terrified that it is going to ruin it….

And there we have it. those are just a few books that I am really excited for. What books are you highly anticipating? Any that you think that I should check out? I hope that you have enjoyed todays post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s