Books

Book Review: Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

Hey Guys!

It’s time for another book review! and today I am crossing another book of my autumn TBR. Today it is the turn of Cogheart by Peter Bunzl. Let’s do this.

IMG_20171104_235225_900.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It was a lot more in-depth and complex then I thought that it was going to be. I will be honest, because this is a middle grade I was expecting to be a bit lacking in excitement and to be really predictable to me (as a lot of middle grades are), but this really wasn’t. it didn’t feel like a middle grade, it read almost as a teen, or an underdeveloped YA.

I haven’t read many steampunky novels, the only ones that I have are the Infernal Devices books, and they aren’t particularly steampunky, so I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this book. I was worried that I wouldn’t enjoy that element of it. but I actually ended up really liking it. I found it really interesting. I liked that Bunzl managed to keep things simple, yet also not at all simple. He didn’t go overboard with the mechanical elements, just kind of started to set it up, introduce us to the world. I know that this book has a sequel, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it turned in to a whole series. I really liked the world.

I also liked that there where so many different aspects to this story. It had adventure, it had mystery, it had family and love and so much more. it was brilliant. I loved that there where so many different elements to it. it kept the story feeling really fresh and interesting. It made it exciting and helped to keep me gripped. I will say that I was a little bit disappointed about some of the plot points, a few felt really predictable. I mean, I figured out the major plot twist really earlier on. in fact, I figured out both of them. but that always tends to happen with me when I read middle grades.

I did also find that the character’s relationships felt a bit strained at times, but it didn’t bother me too much, mainly because I liked the characters. Particularly Lily. I liked that she is this resilient, brave, tomboy in Victorian England who, basically, doesn’t give a shit what people think about her. I really like her. We need more Victorian era girls like her.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It wasn’t the best that I have ever read, but it certainly wasn’t the worst either. At this moment in time I’m not sure if I will read the sequel, I think that I will wait until I know if it is going to be a duology or a series.

3.5 out of 5

And there we have it. have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed todays post and I will see you all again very soon.

 

Leave a Reply

