Books

Book Review: Death Note, Volume 1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

Hey Guys!

It’s time for another book review! Well, actually, today it isn’t a book really, it is a manga. Over the last couple of months, I have been getting into again these. I used to read a lot as a teen but for some reason, I just stopped. Today’s Manga is one that I believe I read the some of this volume back in high school, but I can’t remember for definite. But the manga in question today is Death Note, Volume 1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata, let’s go!

20170812_193249

God I love this story. I watched the Anime of this last year and completely fell in love with it. It ignited my love of Anime. And I have wanted to read the original manga’s ever since. Recently I found the first 5 volumes in the original covers in a charity shop, like new, for £2 each, so naturally I picked them up and I am so glad that I did. I think I may actually love the manga more than the anime.

The storyline is just so unique and interesting. I really love it. even though I had already seen the anime, I was still completely gripped by this storyline. It is just so interesting and such a brilliantly dark and controversial concept. It is one of those ideas that really makes you think, what would I do if I was Light? It is just so good. And I loved the fact that the manga explored things more thoroughly. Although the Anime is essentially just a digitalized version of this story, the manga does do more in depth about some things, explains things a little bit better and also just adds some more aspects of reality to the story. I really liked this, it kind of just made the story feel a little bit more grounded, although it did slow the story down a little.

I think the main reason why I love this particular manga, and why so many other people do, is because of the art work. It is beautiful and brilliant. The way the normal is merged with the…less normal is amazing. You have this super normal boy and then this stunningly dark and creepy Shinigami, it shouldn’t work, but it does. It is like two completely different art styles. It is almost hard to believe that the same person drew them both, I love it.

Although I already know how the story goes, I am interested to see if it stayed true to the original storyline. I will 100% be reading the rest of the volumes and soon. I really love it.

star 44 out of 5

And there we have it. I always forget how much I love Manga’s. Have you read this one yet? Any recommendations for me? Also, would you like me to review each volume that I read, or just stick to just the first one? Let me know. I hope that you have enjoyed todays post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Death Note, Volume 1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

  1. I haven’t read Deathnote but its been suggested to me by loads of friends… so I’m seriously considering it. It is definitely an unique concept!

    I love the idea of getting a review of bundles of volumes… like 1-4, then 5-8 or whatever number groupings don’t make the review too long. That’s what I’m kind of doing for my manga. It’s just the story events really cover more than one volume… That’s my two cents!

    Have you read Fruits Basket? Everyone I’ve ever talked to has loved it if they read it! I’d highly suggest it if you haven’t ❤ lovely review, I hope you read and share more!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read Fruit Basket yet, although it is on my TBR, I’ve only really been getting back into Mangas over the last few months.
      I’ve been thinking the same with reviews. Group a few volumes togther. I don’t feel like I would have enough to say for each single edition 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

