Books

Book Review: The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

Hey Guys!

Happy Saturday! Today it is time for another book review. This week I have finally continued a trilogy that I started over a year ago, the Blood Of Eden trilogy by Julie Kagawa. So, without further ado, here is my review for the second book in the series, The Eternity Cure. Let’s do this!

IMG_20170725_115324_837

Oh god, I don’t know how I feel about this book! I really liked the direction that the story is taking but, damn did it drag. I listened to this as an audiobook and I swear that for the first 8 hours of the 11-hour audiobook, nothing happened. It was all just traveling, little interlude, some more traveling, another little interlude, more traveling, vampire black flipping out a window, traveling and so on and so on. The first 2 thirds of this book where just very slow and repetitive. It took me a very long time to get into it. at first I just thought that it was because it had been over a year since I read the first one, but no, I think it was actually just that it was so slow paced. It just took so long to actually get going.

That being said, once it did get going, I did really start to enjoy it again, and remember why I loved the first book so much. Although considering how slow it was to start, the last 50-70 pages where incredibly fast paced and had so much packed into them. It was actually a little bit hard to keep up. But at least it was more interesting. But, despite the slow nature of this book, I do really like the direction that the story is taking. the story is definitely getting darker as this trilogy progresses and as we learn more about this world.

I will say that I do still really Allie as a main character. I just love the fact that she is this little, 5ft 1, teenager who just kicks arse. She is such a strong female lead. Not only does she have the ability to protect herself and those around her, but she is also smart and caring and so desperate to hang onto what makes her human. She always fights for what she believes in and to protect the people she loves. This really isn’t something that you see that often in YA. Most female leads are either a bit dim, a damsel in distress or a heartless warrior. There aren’t many who have it all. Who are truly strong in every sense. And that is what I love about this series.

But throughout this book I also grew to love some of the characters a lot more. Like Jackal, Kanin and Zeke. Those boys are all so different but all such great characters. And they have all developed so much throughout this book. It is really interesting to watch them all grow and change within themselves. And I am kind of in love with Jackal a bit. He is just such a sarcastic, arrogant arsehole. And I never know whose side he is actually on. In theory, I should hate him, but I kind of love him. He is just such a good character; you want him in your life.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. Not as much as I did the first one, but I did enjoy it. the second half much more than the first though. I think if I had been reading this not listening to it I would have really struggled to get through it. it just needed to have a bit more going on in the first part of it. I think I will probably pick up the final book pretty soon, since this one did leave off on a cliff-hanger. (even if that cliff-hanger was very predictable)

star 44 out of 5

And there we have it. have you read this trilogy yet? What did you think about this book? I think it was definitely suffering from middle book syndrome a bit. But, still enjoyable enough. I hope that you have enjoyed todays post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

