Life

Show Review: The Addams Family Musical

Hey Guys!

Today I thought that I would do something that I haven’t done before and that is review a show. Generally speaking, I am not a massive fan of shows and musicals, but over the last couple of years I have been to quite a few (my sister and mum both love them and keep dragging me to them). So, since I have been going to them, and went to one on Saturday that I would start making little review posts when I do go to see something. So, here are my thoughts on The Addams Family Musical.

IMG_20170722_134657_363

I will start by saying this, I have never been a massive Addams Family fan. It is only in the last couple of years that I have seen the films and I think I’ve seen one or two episodes of the TV show over the years, but I have never had any particularly strong feelings towards it. A few months ago tickets for the musical where released and my sister wanted to go, so she brought two tickets and decided to take me. All I really knew before going to see this (besides the obvious Addams Family concept) was that the show contained Les Dennis, Samantha Womack and Carrie Hope Fletcher (obviously there where others, but those where the only people that I knew).

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the show. It really kind of flew by and I really liked it. The storyline is set in the future (from the films) when Wednesday is a young adult and the musical basically centres around her first relationship and the families meeting. The whole musical is set over about 24 hours. I think this was the right move. If they had just tried to recreate one of films I feel like it may have fallen flat, but because it had its own storyline, it made it really enjoyable to watch. What made it even better was the fact that it was very funny. There was a lot of humour in it and a lot of adult based humour as well. The whole audience was in hysterics. For instance, they played up Lurch, and there was one part where he was walking down a flight of stairs and everyone was just creasing it. It was just so funny.

The music in it was also brilliant. They have some very talented singers in the cast. So everything sounded amazing, the lyrics where brilliant and some of the songs are really catchy. I mean, I’ve had ‘When You’re an Addams’ stuck in my head for two days now. I kind of want to try and get the soundtrack.

I think overall this is a really good musical, especially, if like me, you don’t really like musicals in general. It was really enjoyable. It is also one of those shows that I think if you had kids they would enjoy, but the parents wouldn’t go out of their minds from boredom either. I highly recommend this show.

Also, we saw it at the Mayflower in Southampton and that theatre is lovely. It is really beautiful, seats are all brilliantly tiered, even if you got someone very tall in front of you, you wouldn’t have had any issues, it was comfortable and air conditioned (thank Christ). If you can ever get tickets there, I would recommend it.

And there we have it. If you like this kind of idea let me know and I will do more in the future. I don’t go to shows very often, but I do sometimes. Have you seen Addams Family? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed todays post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

