Books

Book Review: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Hey Guys!

I cannot believe it is Saturday already. That means my two weeks off work are over :(, and it’s back to normal life on Monday. That sucks. Anyway. Its time for a book review. This week I have finally (after like a year) started the Heroes Of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. So, here is my review for The Lost Hero.

IMG_20170702_101343_853

God I have missed this world. It is so nice to be back in it. Like with the Percy Jackson books, I listened to this as an audiobook as opposed to actively reading it and I honestly whizzed through it. I listened to the whole thing in about 3 days. I just didn’t want to turn it off. I will admit that it did take me longer to get into this book, especially compared to how quickly I usually get into Riordan’s writing. I think that this was mainly because it was the same world, a lot of the same characters but a whole new story with new people. And it was bizarre from the first page. We were thrown right into the deep end with this book. But once I did get into it, I was hooked.

I really liked the direction that this book took and I am really excited to see how the story progresses over the rest of the series. I was worried when I first finished Percy Jackson and looked into the Heroes Of Olympus series that it wouldn’t be as good. That it would end up just being a continuation of the original series and that it would feel flat and boring. But I am so happy that it didn’t I feel like Riordan has taken a really good direction with this book/series. The introduction of this other side of the world is really interesting and makes that story feel really fresh and interesting The storyline throughout this book was so gripping and, I feel, a little bit darker then the original trilogy. Don’t get me wrong, it still had the same humour in it and all the usual themes of the Riordan’s writing (friendship, adventure ect ect), just some elements of it felt a bit darker and a bit more twisted. I think some of this is to do with the fact that the main characters are all around 16 instead of 12. and I like it. It makes the story that bit more interesting

Speaking of the characters, I really like them. Again I was worried that I wouldn’t connect to them the same way as I do Percy and Annabeth but I really did. I find the new trio (who will not stay as a trio) really intriguing They all have such big personalities already and I really like that. I also like that they are mildly reminiscent of the original trio. It made them that bit easier to connect with. I also like that we have already learnt so much about them, and the fact that all three of them came into this world together United. And also how much they have grown within themselves in this book alone. They have all grown in confidence and ability so much, just in one book. I cannot wait to see how they develop throughout the rest of the series.

Overall I really liked this book. It wont be long until I start the next one. I am really intrigued by the storyline and I cannot wait to uncover more of the story. I will admit that I did figure out the big plot twist (that was revealed right at the end) pretty early on. But then, when that happens in a middle grade I usually take it with a pinch of salt as I am a lot older (21) then the intended audience. But all in all, I really enjoyed this book. If you are a fan of the Percy Jackson books, you need to read this series.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I am so glad that I have finally picked up this series. I hadn’t realised how ,much I missed Riordan’s writing until I started this. Have you read this series yet? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

  1. I’m experiencing that odd moment of jealousy you get when you see someone setting off on a series you love, and you envy them for the journey they’re going to have…

    The Heroes of Olympus series is so good! I had some of the same reservations as you going in: Can this possibly live up to the original series? What if I don’t like the characters? What if Riordan screws up the plot lines that were tied away neatly at the end of The Last Olympian? But everything gets woven together so wonderfully, and new and old characters get arcs and development that make you appreciate and love the whole canon — old and new books — so much more. Hope you continue to enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

