Books

Book Review: Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

Hey Guys!

Welcome back. How are you today? Since it is Sunday it is time for another book review. And today, shockingly, it is another new release. Yep, today’s book is Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu. Lets do this!

IMG_20170701_180551_333

Wow. I fucking love this book. I read it in basically one sitting, it was that good. I will be 100% honest with you, when I first heard about this book, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I was worried that it could be a bit preachy or man hating (things I have experienced in the past with books themed around feminism). As a feminist I was worried that this could give the wrong idea to young girls. But I am so glad that I decided to give this book a go. It handles feminism in a brilliant way. It shows you the power that girls actually have when we stand together and fight for equality And I also love that you do see some boys getting involved with it and highlighting the fact that boys can be feminists too.

The storylines throughout Moxie were so good, because I know that the situations in this book are happening at this very moment in real life. I think that this is the reason why this book worked so well. Because it is reminiscent of current events, it feels very real. The issues regarding dress codes and girls being ‘distractions’ has been all over the internet for a couple of years now. Teenage girls being ignored and patronised when they seek help for sexual assault It is all happening in the world right now and it really makes this book feel real and makes it so easy to connect to. And the whole books shows that it only takes one girl standing up, to trigger a whole revelation

The characters in it where also brilliant, Viv was a great lead character. She is this really strong character, who finds herself standing up for what she believes in, even though it scares her. And I think that it is really important to see that even though it is terrifying, you can still do it. You can still help make the change. It made her feel so realistic and three dimensional. You see her grow a lot throughout this book as she starts to believe more and more in what she is doing and get more and more infuriated with the situation that she has found herself in.

I also love the fact that we get a lot of secondary characters in this book, all of whom are very different. There is the girl who doesn’t really believe/understand feminism at the start, but ends up really fighting for it at the end. There is the girl that believes in feminism with all her heart and is determined to make a change. There is the girl how is scared to speak out because of her friends. There are so many girls in this book that start out just accepting what is going on around them. But end up fighting for change. And there is also Seth. The boy who proves that not all teenage boys are the same. And that boys can be feminists two. All of this together just made the story feel that much more three dimensional and realistic. I think everyone can relate to at least one character.

I will admit I was also surprised by the amount diversity in this book. We had LGBTQA+ characters and ethnic minorities and more. It was just refreshing to see a book focused on feminism that isn’t focused on just white girls. It made this book just that much better. Also the fact that there are mentions of the inequality towards these as well.

Overall I really did enjoy this book. I read it in practically one sitting. It was brilliantly written with amazing art work and graphics, brilliant uses of quotes and so much more. I feel like this is one of those books that every teenage girl should read. It is a brilliant book.

star 55 out 5

and there we have it. I think that I may have said the word ‘feminist’ about 400 times during that, but I don’t care. You need to read this book. What did you think abut this book? Any similar books that I should look at? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

