Books

Book Review: A Gathering Of Shadows by V E Schwabb

Hey Guys!

Happy Saturday! How are you all today? It’s my birthday! It is also time for another book review! And this week I am continuing a trilogy that I absolutely adore. That’s right, I have finally picked up the next book in the Darker Shade Of Magic trilogy. Here is my review for A Gathering Of Shadows by V E Schwabb, lets do this!

IMG_20170607_014607_615

Oh my god! You cannot end a book like that!!! I need the final book! Now! This book was incredible. I was worried that it wouldn’t be as good as the first, but my god, it was. This book was so bloody intense. It was literally non stop, straight from the go. I don’t think that there was a single dull moment in it. I am so glad that I decided to wait until all the books in this trilogy where out to read it. I think I would go insane if I had to wait a whole year to find out what was going to happen next.

I love the direction that this story is going in. when I finished the first book, I wasn’t sure where it was going to go or how it would move forward. But I love the direction that it has taken. This story is just so good. I love it to death. I feel like this story is getting darker with each book and the world is getting more and more complexed. I loved that in this book we learnt a lot more about the general lives of Red Londoner’s and learnt more about how their society works. We also got to learn about the other nations in this universe. It was just so nice to flesh out these worlds a bit more.

I think the reason why this book didn’t falter, like so many second books do, is because it simultaneously had the same and a different feel to it. The story is told differently. The main trio are just getting on with their lives, fairly separately, and watching/competing in this regular event, while all the sinter goings on are happening in a completely different London This just seemed to work really well. I also think the fact that we got a lot more flashback moments throughout this one helped as well. You got to see a lot more growth in the characters and experience more of the fallout form the first book.

I have fallen in love with the characters even more in this book. I absolutely adore Kell. I feel so sorry for him at times. He doest have it easy. Throughout this book I kept finding myself just wanting to give him a hug and tell him that it is all going to be okay in the end. I also love the turn that Lila’s story has taken. I really really love her. She is just such a strong, independent, bad-ass I cannot wait to see how her story plays out in the final book. I mean, seriously, what the fuck is she?!? and the chemistry between this pair is amazing. I swear to god, if they don’t end up together, I am going to scream. They are perfect for each other. Speaking of love, I have also fallen in love with Alucard Emery. He’s just brilliant and I love the whole Alucard/Rhy situation.

Overall I absolutely adored this book. I never wanted to put it down. I actually had the audiobook for this one and I actually preferred listening to it then reading it. I just feel like it was the perfect way to read this one, and I will be getting and audiobook for A Conjuring Of Light. This trilogy is just amazing, it is hands down, one of my all time favourites. Everyone needs to read it. I cannot wait to pick up the final book.

star 55 out of 5

Wow, just wow. If you haven’t read this trilogy yet, you need to. I honestly cannot explain to you how much I loved this book. Have you read this trilogy yet? Are you as obsessed with it as I am? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

