Books

Book Review: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

Hey Guys!

Happy July 1st! I cannot believe we are this far into the year already! Where has the time gone? Anyway, it is Saturday and you know what that means, book review time! This week I am finally continuing with a series that I started literally a year ago. That’s right people, I am finally carrying on with the Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children trilogy. So without further ado, here is my review for Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.

IMG_20170622_175937_305

I still don’t know how I feel about this series I mean they are good, but I really don’t get what all the hype is about. I really don’t get it. I will be honest, I wasn’t sure if I was going to carry on with this trilogy at all, but I decided to give it a go and I really cannot decide how I feel about it. I mean, yea, the story is interesting and is a really good concept, but I don’t feel like it is worthy of the hype. I honestly don’t love these books the way that others do.

I felt like this whole book was very slow, despite the fact that there was constantly something going on. I don’t know why, but it just really seemed to drag for me. I mean, I read this in about a week, but it felt like I had been reading it for a month. I never truly got into it. I was very much just reading it for the sake of getting through it, not because I wanted to know the outcome. And I feel really bad saying this because it is a good book, and by all reason, should be something that I love. But I just don’t seem to be able to get on with this trilogy.

I mean I don’t even have particularly strong feelings towards any of the characters. I don’t hate any of them, but I don’t love any of them either. Which is stupid because they are all pretty three dimensional and feel real, but for some reason I just don’t seem to be able to connect with them like I do in other books. They just don’t seem to have that spark of life to me. I really don’t know what is wrong with me with these books. I should love them. They should be my favourites. But here I am struggling to even write this review because I am just so indifferent about them.

I honestly don’t know what else I can say about this book. I really struggled to get through it. I feel obliged to finish this trilogy now, but honestly, if I struggle with the third book half as much as I did with this one, I will end up just DNF-ing it. I really don’t connect with this trilogy.

star 2.52.5 out of 5

I really wish I loved this trilogy and I really don’t know why I don’t I mean I should. It has everything that I love in a story, I even like the writing style, I just cant get on with them. And it is such a shame. Has anyone else had similar issues with this series? Or is it just me? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

