Books

Book Review: Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition by J K Rowling and Jim Kay

Hey Guys!

In celebration of Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone turning 20 this week, I decided to (finally) read my Illustrated copy of it and do a bonus little review for it. This will mainly be talking about the illustrations, mainly because I have read the book itself around 30 times, so all my thoughts on it are very much just ‘omg its amazing’. But anyway, without further ado, here is my review for Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition by J K Rowling and Jim Kay.

IMG_20170626_151047_223

My god this book is so beautiful. The illustrations in this book are just straight up stunning. Some of them are so incredible that it actually hurts. I cannot explain to you how much I love Jim Kay’s illustrations in this books. It is the only thing that could make the original story even better. The style and the colours just complemented the book perfectly. I feel like not only is this the perfect book for die hard fans, it is a brilliant option for first time readers as all of the illustrations look exactly like how I had imagined they would look. Kay clearly understands the story perfectly. I am really interested to see how he interprets some of the later books in the series, such as Deathly hallows. I feel like the darker scenes are going to be even more stunning.

star 55 out of 5

Since that is such a short review, I thought that I would tell you a few of my general thoughts and feelings towards the book/series in general. Lets go.

As for the story itself, I cannot even begin to tell you how much I love this series and how much it means to me. I literally grew up surrounded by the Potter universe. I was just under 1 when the first book was released so I was literally surrounded by the books and the films my whole life. I was, admittedly, part of that awkward middle generation that was too young for the books when the films started to come out, but at the same time older enough to watch the films. This meant that I watched up to Order Of The Phoenix before reading the books. But even doing it this way I still love the books so much. I was trying to work out how many times I have read them and lost count at about 25.

there is just something about these books. I don’t know if it is the magical world, the incredible characters, the stunning writing or the awe-inspiring storylines, I don’t know. There is just something about this series that you cannot help but love. Whenever I am feeling sad or anxious, I find myself reaching for this series. As soon as I pick one of them up it is like going home. These books just let you escape into this amazing world. A world full of love and friendship, loss and pain, magic and ;laughter I love it.

I also love all the hundreds of life lessons sprinkled throughout this series I learnt so much about myself and the world while reading these books. Like that if there is a corrupt power in government, sometimes you have to take actions into your own hands, and your family hold the power to influence your views To understand someone, you must understand the family in which they came from. There are many many more lessons like this that have really stuck with me throughout the years.

I feel like I have waffled on about Potter enough for one day. Let me know, would you like me to do a post just dedicated souly to Potter and my opinions on it? And if so, anything specific you would like me to talk about? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s little post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

