Books · Life

Best Book To Movie Adaptations

Hey Guys!

Over the last couple of months I have been watching quiet a few films, most of which are book to movie adaptations. I feel like over the last few years there seems to be a lot more of these about, so I thought that I would talk about some of these. Today it is going to be about book to movie adaptations that are the best, in my opinion, but I will also do posts for the worst and most disappointing ones. Obvious disclaimer, this is just my personal opinion, I am not trying to offend anyone, just expressing my opinion. This is also based purely off the films that I have both seen and read the book for. But without further ado, lets do this.

hunger games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I think that it is universally agreed that these films are very good. I have only read the first two books (well the first book and all but about 30 pages of the second), and I have only seen the first two films, but those two are very good. The films stay very true to the books. Yes, there are some differences, but they aren’t too major. For the most part, the films stick to the books and that is what makes them so good. They are true to the story that we know and love. Plus, everything in the films was done in such a way that it is incredibly visually impressive. These may well be my favourite book to film adaptations (if you are wondering, I am planning on watch the last two films, once I have read the last book, although I will probably reread the whole trilogy for that).

IMG_20170527_151500_497

Harry Potter by J K Rowling

I have read all of these books so many times, and I love them so much. I can tell you every little thing about them. But, I am one of the people that watched the films before I read the books. I was only 1 when the first book came out and when I was old enough to read them, I wasn’t really into reading. So I didn’t read any of the books until after Order Of The Phoenix had come out at the cinema. This means that I do clearly see the differences between the books and the films, I get bugged by what they cut out, and what was different and everything, but, even so I still really really love the films. They are such good adaptations, even with the differences these are the pinnacle of book to film adaptation. They are some of the best around. They are close to the books, they are visually stunning, the effects are amazing. They are just all round brilliant.

IMG_2409

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

When I heard that this was being made into a film, I will admit that I was sceptical. At the time, I hadn’t read the book, but I knew what it was about and I didn’t know how it would work as a film. But since then I read the book and then watched the film and I thought that they did it brilliantly. Everything stuck to the way that it was in the book, but the film also did everything tastefully. A book like this could easily have become this dreadful film focused purely on the illness in it, but it managed to stay true to the book and focus on the story, and the love. I cried nearly as much at the film as I did when reading the book.

divergent-2.jpg.jpeg

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I read the whole Divergent trilogy last year and really liked it. It is one of my favourite dystopian book series around. And I recently watched the first film and I ended up really liking it. I always tend to wait until I have read a book to see the film, and while reading the books I was wondering how it would work as a film. I knew that the action and the drama would work, but it is a complex world and I wasn’t sure if that would be explained and understandable in the film, but it was. They managed to stay true to the book and the story, and also make the story accessible to everyone. Even if you haven’t read the books, you wouldn’t be lost. Yes, you would have a greater understating of the universe, but you still understand it. And that makes it a very good film. It is also visually, very impressive. And besides, any film with Theo James is going to be a good one. I am just hoping that the rest of the films are just as good.

IMG_20170609_160504_909

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

I saw the film of this one for the first time a few years ago and I really enjoyed it. I thought that it was a brilliant concept, it was so interesting but I didn’t realise until recently that it was actually based off a book so I ordered the book and have just finished reading it and I loved it. I was very pleased by how similar it was to the film. They clearly stuck very well to the original story. The film looked how I feel like it should, the characters where brilliant. The whole thing was great. I think that this is one of the best book to film adaptions that I have seen, mainly because of how close they stick to each other.

IMG_2296

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I read this book, after seeing the trailer for the film and I loved it. (SIDENOTE: I do understand why people have issues with this book and I can see the issues, but I personally can see the other side of it as well and I like the book….in a I cried for a week, kind of way). I very recently watched the film, I put off seeing it for a long time since the book had traumatised me, but when I did eventually see it, I was impressed. It complete stuck to the book, pretty much everything was included, it all had the same feel as the book, it was a very good adaptation. Plus, the actors where perfect for the characters.

A Monster Calls

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

This story is incredible. When I read the book I read it in one sitting and I cried, a lot. It is beautiful and heartbreaking and one of those books that everyone needs to read. I watched the film recently and fell in love with the story all over again. The film stayed true to the book and was also beautiful. Everything looked incredible. I particularly liked the way that the stories where done, it reminded me of The Tales Of Beedle The Bard from Deathly Hallows. Brilliant book, brilliant film.

img_4654

Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding

This is one of the few books on this list where I watched the film before I read the book. I saw the film a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it, last year I decided to give the book a go and loved it. The film stayed very true to the book, and I actually think came off funnier then it at times. Aesthetically, everything looked like it should. The places, the people. I personally thought that it was a really really good adaptation. This story is just brilliant. It is such a nice easy read and watch. If you want a very light-hearted read/watch, this is the one for you. You cannot help but love it.

IMG_20170418_081129_737

Paper Towns by John Green

I was pleasantly surprised by this film. After reading the book I wasn’t sure how I would feel about a film version of it, mainly because there was quiet a lot of mystery and clue following and there are two definite sections to this story, so I wasn’t sure how well it would translate into film, turns out, they did a good job. They did change a few things, mainly with some of the orders that things where in, but it still worked and I still really enjoyed it. It was a very good film and a pretty decent adaptations.

And those are a few of the book to film adaptations that I have watched and thought where brilliant. Obviously, these are just my opinions, you may think differently to me, but I personally think that these are all very good adaptations. What are some of you favourite book to film adaptations? Let me know if you enjoyed today’s post and I may do a part two in the future as I am always watching more and more films. And over the next few months there will be a few other posts in this style. Anyway, I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

