Books

Book Review: All About The Hype by Paige Toon

Hey Guys!

Its book review time! Today it is the return of a series that I adore, and that series is the Jessie Jefferson series by Paige Toon, with today’s review being for the third book in the series, All About The Hype. So, without further ado, lets get to it.

IMG_20170614_074157_837

That was the best book of this series I also think that it may have been the last. Although this is pegged as a series, not a trilogy, I think Toon is going call it a day now. The way this book ended, it doesn’t need another instalment Things felt really well wrapped up and, although there was a lot of drama at the end, it all still feels resolved and like a good ending. As much as I would love more from these characters, I feel like there story is at an end. This was a very good end for them.

I really loved this book. It had a far more YA feel to it. The first two books, although classes as YA had a teen feel to them, where as this one really did feel more like a YA. I don’t know if it is just that Toon is developing as a YA author more or if its because the characters are progressing or because it dealt with more YA topics such as drinking and sex, I don’t know. But it did have that feel to it. I think that is why I liked this one the most out of them all. It just felt that little bit more adult and like there was more depth to it. I also feel like because the story was more established in this book, it was easier to understand the characters and why things where the way they where. I feel like this is one of those rare series where each instalment gets that bit better.

I think the reason why I love these books so much is because of Jessie. She is such a relatable character. You can just understand her. Right from the off she is just this very normal teenager who is just thrown head first into this very un-normal situation. It is very easy to relate to her, as you watch her trying to find her feet and get to grips with this new life. And I love the fact that despite it all, she stays very down to earth and grounded. She doesn’t let her new life go to her head and change her. Although you do see her develop as a person throughout these books. She has grown up a lot since we first met her. Yes, she still makes mistakes and gets into trouble, but she is just a kid after all.

I really do love this series. These books are just so easy to read and so enjoyable. If you are every looking for a nice easy book, with brilliant characters, you need to give this one a go. Yes, it is kind of cliché, but still so enjoyable.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

and there we have it. I will be very surprised if Toon does write another book in this series. This one definitely felt like the end. Have you read this series? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

