Books

Book Review: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Hey Guys!

Once again it is time for another book review. Today it is the turn of a book that I didn’t know existed until a couple of months ago. The book in question is Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. So, let’s do this.

IMG_20170609_160504_909

This was one of those rare times when I had watched the film adaption before reading the book. Mainly, because I did not know that it was originally a book. I saw the film for the first time a few years ago (seen it maybe 3 or 4 times now) and I really enjoyed it. I thought that it was really interesting and it really piqued my interest I’ve regularly found myself thinking about that film. And then a few months ago I accidentally stumbled over the book. I believe a Booktuber mentioned it in passing and I looked it up and realised it was originally a book. So I ordered it that day and I am very glad that I did.

Obviously because I had already seen the film, I knew the general plot, what would happen to who and when, how it would end, all that stuff. But even knowing this, I still really enjoyed it. I was actually very surprised by how closely the film had followed the book. It really stuck to the story. But the reason why the book still gripped me so much, despite the fact that I knew the story, was because of how much more in-depth it went. The things that had confused me or not quiet clicked when watching the film, all fell into place while reading this book. It felt as if everything had its place and a reason for being included It just made the story even more gripping.

It did take me a while to get to grips with how the story was being told. The book is being told from Kath’s POV in the late 1990’s, but she is telling you directly (she literally speaks to the reader a few times) about her childhood and life. The reason why it took me a while to get my head around it was simply because it jumped about quite a bit. One second she would be telling you about this thing that happened when she was 8 and then suddenly she would switch to something that had happened just a couple of years ago. It took me a while to get to grips with this formate. But, even though it was a little confusing at times, it was a brilliant way of telling the story. It really felt like Kath was just talking to you, and get distracted by her own thoughts. This also made it feel a little bit like you where a donor of hers, and she was talking to you. It was amazingly well done.

I will admit that I am still a little confused by the timings in this book. This is clearly a dystopian book, but because it is set in the 70’s-90’s, it is just not how you usually see dystopians. They are usually set in the future, not the past (fyi, the book was published in 2005). I personally found that this left it all a little bit hazy as to the details that had lead to this being the situation that they where in, if that makes since. There are vague hints as to how the world came to be like this, most of which where in the last 20 or so pages, but yea. I am still a little unsure of that aspect of the story.

But apart from that, I really loved this book. It was very fucked up and dark, but it felt realistic. This situation could so easily be reality. I like to think that it wouldn’t ever happen, but it could. And that really fascinated me, in a very dark way. It was just a very good book. It kind of reminded me a bit of The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood. It had a very similar feel to it. But I do feel that this is a book that everyone should pick up. It really makes you think.

star 44 out of 5

and there we have it. Such a good book. Although I will say, I did kind of prefer the way they ended the film. I mean tiny differences, but I still preferred it. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

  1. I’m with you on some of this. I think somehow, as bleak as the film ending was, it had a sense of closure and peace that the book didn’t quite have. I have nothing against a vague, less-than-happy book ending though. If the story had ended any other way, it would have been a different story.
    I don’t think this was the most believable sci-fi dystopian possibility but that’s more because of the health ramifications to getting multiple organ replacements. What I did enjoy is the tough questions it raised about humankind and worth, what qualifies one as human, etc. Also the drastic turn of perspective as readers find out the story was compelling and kind of sad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

