Recipes

Halloumi Burger Recipe

Hey Guys!

Summer is fast approaching and I don’t know akbout you, but that means that I want yummy food that doesn’t take hours to prepare So today I thought that I would share one of my favourite summer recipes Halloumi Burgers. You probably know by now that I have been a vegetarian my whole life and this is my favourite burger recipe I am not a massive fan of tofu or Quorn, I will always try and opt for Halloumi. But, enough waffling, here is the recipe

20170615_180457(0)

Makes 4 Burgers

What You Will Need:

2 blocks of Halloumi Cheese

4 Burger Buns (if you can get the stone baked ones or crusty ones, they work well)

Sweet Chilli Jam

Mayonnaise

1 Avocado

1 Beef Tomato

1 Gem Lettuce

1 Red Onion

(1 Sweet Pepper (optional))

How To Make:

  1. First, open and drain you halloumi, and then slice it in half lengthways, so that you have two thinner rectangles of halloumi.

  2. Next grab a large non-stick frying pan. Put it on a medium heat and pop in you halloumi (you don’t need any oil)

  3. while that is cooking, prepare your burgers.

  4. Slice your beef tomato, separate your lettuce, open your buns, slice your onion, pip, peel and slice your avocado, if using sweet pepper, chop that (I have also seen these with roasted red peppers in them, I don’t personally like them so I don’t use them, but you can). You can pretty much anything in your burgers, but I find this tastes you best.

  5. While doing all this, flip you halloumi over about ever 2 minutes.

  6. Next, on one side of your bun spread some sweet chilli jam, how much you use is purely dependent on how much you like it. And then on the other half spread some mayonnaise You don’t have to use Mayo as well, but I find that it makes everything creamer and also brings out the other flavours.

  7. Once your halloumi is golden on both sides, it is done. Remove it from the heat.

  8. Pop your buns on a plate. The halloumi goes on first, then your tomato, lettuce, avocado, onion and then sweet pepper if you are using it, then you lid.

  9. And there we have it, halloumi burgers

It is as easy as that. I would suggest serving it with sweet potato fries or a summer salad (which I will be doing a recipe for my favourite one in a few weeks). But I really do love these burgers. They are just so quick to do and so yummy. What are some of your favourite summer recipes? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

