Books

Book Review: City Of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Hey Guys!

It is time for another book review, and today it is one that has been a long time coming. I started this book over a month ago and have only just finished it. The book in question is City Of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. So, without further a do, lets get to the review.

IMG_20170426_170303_717

It took me a very long time to get through this book, mainly because I just didn’t want this series to be over. I am in love with this series. It has instantly become one of my all time favourites and I really wish that I had read it sooner. This whole series is just incredible. It is full of drama and action, joy and sorrow, love and hate, family and friendship and humour and everything. This series has some of it all and I love that about it. There is never a dull moment throughout this entire series. Theses books keep you hooked from the first page, I mean, I virtually read them back to back. I just love them so much, and this was a fantastic finish to the series

I honestly didn’t think things where going to work out while reading this book. I just didn’t know how everything was going to be resolved. And then there where less then 100 pages left and I didn’t think that things where going to be resolved and, just, oh my god. The feels. I swear, I haven’t cried this much while reading a book since I read Deathly Hallows for the first time. I constantly found myself tearing up at things. The good and the bad. This was just such a roller-coaster of emotions. One second you had this really sweet, romantic moment, the next, someone you loved was dead. It was just so up and down. I felt so much while reading this book.

This book was so intense. It took 3 tries to just get through the prologue, because it was so intense. Right from the first page we where thrown in at the deep end. Things kicked off straight away and never really slowed down. It was very intense. It wasn’t just that the book was fast paced, it was also action packed and very emotional. It was non-stop

I also really liked the way that the story progressed in this book. And the storyline for that matter. These books have gotten progressively darker as they have gone on and this book was definitely the darkest and most heartbreaking. I mean, I was crying during the prologue. The whole book kept everything really interesting and kept me guessing right up until the end. I never knew what was going to happen next. I think that this may be my favourite of the series, even if it did break my heart.

The reason why I love this series so much though isn’t the storylines, it the characters. Every single character in these book is brilliant. Some in a good way, some in a bad. I love them all. Everyone feels very three dimensional and real, even in this fantasy setting. You understand these characters. You get their motivations and their thought processes and just them. All of these characters have been through so much throughout this series and yet they all remain so strong and brave and loyal to each other. And they have all grown so much since we first met them. I mean Clary, Jace and Simon are practically different people. They have developed so much as characters. It is brilliant. But then so have Izzy and Alec and Magnus and Maia. I loved watching these characters grow over the course of this series. I also loved watching the couples emerge I love Jace and Clary together, and Simon and Izzy, but I have to admit that I am a massive Malec shipper. They are just perfect. Clare writes such perfect couples.

Overall I really really love this series and I think that this was the perfect way to finish this series, although I am already itching to read Lady Midnight. I honestly cannot speak highly enough of this series, I love it so much. Everyone needs to read it.

star 55 out of 5

I cant believe that this series is over. I want to read it again already. I also loved that in this book we got so many nods to the Infernal Devices, and to Jem, Tessa and Will. I just loved this. I adore that trilogy (even more then TMI), and I loved seeing it. Although seriously, Clare’s epilogues fucking kill me. Every damn time. Anyway, have you read this series? Did you cry your way through this book? Or do I just need to get a life? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s review and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

