Books

Book Review: Nick And Noah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Hey Guys!

Can you believe that we are already halfway through June? Honestly, where is this year going? Anyway, its Saturday! And you know what that means! Book review time! This week it is the return of a writing duo who are fast becoming my faves, today it is Nick And Noah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. Let do this.

IMG_20170604_170823_944

What a brilliant little book. I loved it. It was such a lovely story. I really enjoyed it. I found the storyline really interesting The concept of watching a relationship between two people form over the course of one epic night is really interesting I was a little bit worried about how it would work, but I ended up really enjoying it. Mainly because this duo create such real, three dimensional characters, that you just cant help but connect with them. This is why I really love this duo, they create these characters that you just cant help but fall for. They feel real and like you know them. Like they are your friends. You just connect with them.

Throughout this book I understood these characters. I got why they did what they did, thought what thought, felt what they felt. I got them. And that’s what made this storyline work, because these characters made it work. They made it feel real and that is brilliant. I feel like when a book is as short as this one (under 200 pages), it can be hard to connect to the story and the characters, but in this one it worked. And I really do believe that the reason why it does is because everything feels very real. You have these two teenagers, both of whom have been hurt, both of whom over think and analysis things, both of whom are completely unsure of how the feels, both of whom are very human. They are just normal teenagers and that is why this story works.

But there are so many things, besides Nick and Noah, that I loved about this book. The diversity of the characters for instance. You have so many different LGBTQ+ characters in this story, its brilliant. I mean, the main character is the only hetero guy in a band. And no one cares. It is just a thing. So often in books they make such a big deal about have LGBTQ+ characters in the story, but this book didn’t It was just a thing. Again, so much like real life. It was just brilliant. The story also explored elements of modern day punk music and the punk scene and I again, I loved that. It was just really nice to have so much diversity in such a small book.

I honestly cannot tell you how much I loved this little story. If you are looking for a great, quick read, pick up this book. It is brilliant. I loved every second of it, and I am already itching to read more by this duo. Also, it is set in New York and that is just the icing on the cake.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

and there we have it. I loved this one. Have you read it? What did you think about it? I am off to watch the movie adaptation of this book, as I want more of these characters, so, I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

