Books

Book Review: Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! Woop woop….sorry I’m in a weird mood. Today’s review is actually for the first book off my summer TBR, and a book that I have been waiting nearly a year to read, it is of course, Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman. Lets do this.

IMG_20170529_101631_989

I quiet liked this one, although I was a little bit disappointed From the blurb of the book and online description it sounded like it would be a contemporary with a thriller element to it. In reality, it was just a contemporary with a little bit of weird in it. I was hoping for a bit more mystery and stuff. But, despite this, I did still enjoy it. It was a good contemporary I read it in just two days and I did like it. I just feel like there was a lost opportunity with it.

I really liked the main storyline. I think the ideas where really good and that it was executed in a good way. Everything felt genuine. You could understand Skye’s grief. Her emotions and her motivations. She felt pretty real and that was nice. I can find that sometimes in contemporary you can feel a bit disconnected from the characters, but that wasn’t the case in this one. You really felt for Skye and wanted things to work out for her. And that was because of the way that the story was written. You learnt about what had happened through flashbacks, dotted throughout the story. This means that you didn’t start the story with any preconceived notions or ideas. You went in pretty blind and slowly learnt what had happened. This was nice.

What I didn’t like about this book though was the lack of suspense. It had the potential for it, but it just failed to relieved on it, which is a shame. It would have given the story a whole new level. This lack of suspense and half hearted thriller idea did mean that it was really easy to figure out who it was sending the messages and all that stuff. I just wish there had been a bit more to it. I also wish that, since that element wasn’t explored to the extent that it could have been, that more focus had been put on Skye’s mental well being after everything. I mean, we are told she has panic attacks and phobias and flashbacks and I just feel like, since there wasn’t really the thriller element, that side could have been more thoroughly explored instead and given it a new side.

Also, did not need the weird culty thing that was at the end. That was just super fucked up and unneeded. Overall though, it was a pretty good book. A nice easy summer read. But not quiet what I was expecting/hoping for. I am interested to read more by Wallman though, as I did enjoy the writing style.

star 3.53.5 out of 5

and that’s it really. I was a bit disappointed by this one, but, you cant win them all. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

