Books

Book Review: Spellslinger by Sebastien De Castell

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! And guess what! It is a newly released book today! This like never happens! The book in question is Spellslinger by Sebastien De Castell. Lets do this.

IMG_20170525_152655_553

I will be 100% honest with you, I originally picked this book up because I liked the cover, then I read the blurb and thought it sounded pretty good, I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with it like it have. I honestly adore this book. I read it in practically one sitting. This book it just so good! Basically no-one is talking about it, which is such a shame because it is incredible. I loved every second of it.

The storyline in this book was so gripping. I never knew what way it was going to go next. It was full of unexpected twists and turns and it was brilliant. It really kept me on the edge of my seat, I didn’t want to put it down. This book contains a magic system unlike any that I have ever seen before. It is deep and twisted, with such a rich history. But it also complicated, but in a way that you can understand. It is just really interesting to read. I am really interested to see how this world changes and progresses in the rest of the series. I am also really interested to learn more about the history of this world. Sebastien De Castell clearly understands this world perfectly He knows it and he knows where it has been and where it is going. I just love it.

Also love the characters. I think that Kellen is a brilliant protagonist. He is so unsure of himself, but still able to appear confident and controlled. He has been betrayed and belittled time and time again, and yet he keeps fighting. I just love him. I really cannot wait to see what happens to him in the next book. I also love his ‘friendship’ with Reichis. It is just so funny but I love the fact that already you are starting to see the depth of their friendship. By the end of this series I guarantee that they will be 100% friends. I love that bloody squirrel cat. He is such a sarcastic, arrogant arsehole. He is hilarious and I love him.

Overall I really did enjoy this book. I will admit that I did find all the names really hard to get my head around. Because they are all so similar, it did make it harder to differentiate between who was who. I mean there is Ra’meth, Ra’dir and also Ra’fan. It just got a bit much. But apart form that, I loved it. I think that this is the best first of a series that I have read in years. I am so glad that I have only got to wait until October for the next book. You need to read this.

star 55 out of 5

I honestly love this book so much. I was in a bit of a slump when I picked this up, but this book just blasted that away. I am just itching to read more now. I love this book. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

