Books

Book Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

Hey Guys!

Welcome to my first book review of June! Wow, can you believe we are already in to June? It doesn’t seem possible. Anyway, today I am continuing with a trilogy that I started a couple of months ago. Here is The Rose Society by Marie Lu.

IMG_20170515_164739_589

I hate Adelina. I really do. I really like the trilogy, I like the storylines and the world and the concepts and characters, but, my god, I really hate Adelina. I just really dislike her. I find her insufferable. I liked her in the first book, but in this one? Nope. I have ended up really hating her. I don’t know what it is about her exactly, but I just cant stand her. I find her conniving and hateful, but also back stabbing and I don’t know, scheming I just really don’t like her. I almost don’t want to read the last book, because I know it will mean enduring more of her. I mean, I know she is spouse to be difficult to like, but I just cant stand her.

Apart from dislike of Adelina, I liked the book, although I did struggle to get through it at times. The themes in this trilogy are very dark and super twisted, and this can make them hard to read. But they are interesting I don’t think that I have ever read a book from a perspective like Adelina’s. She feels like such a corrupt narrator that the whole story feels even darker then it should. This is really interesting to read because it keeps your attention. You want to know what’s going to happen.

I do really wish that there was more of the secondary characters in this book. I love Magiano and Raffaele and I really wish that we saw more of them. I actually kind of wish that the whole trilogy was from Raffaele’s POV. I feel like I would be enjoying it a lot more if it was. I feel like it would be more interesting I honestly think that my dislike for Adelina is clouding my opinions towards that trilogy as a whole, which is a shame because I love the world and the story, I just don’t like her.

I will also say that I am finding most of this pretty predictable. I mean I guessed what would happen with the whole Enzo thing, I guessed the whole thing that Raffaele realises (don’t want any spoilers), I also guessed the most of the storylines, and I have a feeling I know what will go down in the last book, which is kind of annoying. I wish that it was harder to cotton on to these things as it means that I’m not getting that unexpected element to the story. I just kind of know what’s going to happen.

Overall, I am not sure how I feel about this trilogy. I love the world and the concept, but my dislike of Adelina is definitely diminishing my liking of the series a bit. We will see how that plays out in the final book.

star 2.52.5 out of 5

honestly, so torn over this book. It has been a long time since I have disliked a protagonist as much as Adelina. Please tell me I’m not the only one? Does anyone else dislike her? What do you think of the trilogy as a whole? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

