Books

Book Review: The Picture Of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Hey Guys!

Happy Sunday! I cant believe the week is over. Back to reality tomorrow, whaa :(. Oh well. It is time for another book review and today it is, shock horror, a classic! I know! This is such a rarity for me lol. Anyway, lets do this. Here is my review for The Picture Of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

IMG_20170510_223010_585

I have wanted to read this book for years now. Most people study this at some point in their school life, I never did. I somehow managed to escape studying many classics. I mainly did Shakespeare Which is a shame, because I did always want to read this. And because I didn’t have to read it for a class, I have put off picking it up for a long time (I used to really struggle reading classics due to being mildly dyslexic, and it has given me a bit of a mind block about classics in general now), but recently I watched the film, Dorian Gray, and fell in love with the story, so I decided to finally pick it up and read it. And I loved it.

I really enjoyed this book. It has gone straight up there as one of my all time favourite books. It is stunning. I loved the story. It is just so dark and interesting It really highlights the issue of sin and corruption and blurs the lines between good and bad. I really enjoyed it. I can see why there was so much controversy about it when it was first released. I can only imagine what people in that time thought of it.

I also loved the writing. I don’t think that I have read anything by Oscar Wilde (I know that this is his only novel, but I don’t think I have read any of his poetry or plays), which is a shame considering how beautiful the writing is in this book. You can tell that Wilde was, first and foremost, a poet and a play-write There is something very poetic and lyrical about the writing in this book. It is almost musical at times. The whole time I was reading this I was constantly being awed by the language and the writing. I really loved it. It has made me want to read some his poems, and that is coming from someone who doesn’t really like poetry (William Blake is the exception to that rule for me). It has definitely left me wishing that he wrote more then just the one novel.

Overall I really loved this book. I am going out to buy myself a pretty hard-cover edition of it as soon as I get paid, I loved it that much. My only disappointment in this book is that while reading it, I was picturing Dorian as tall, dark and handsome, very much Ben Barnes in the movie, not the blond haired blue eyed boy that he described to be, but I think that is just my fault for watching the film first.

If you are looking for classics to read, I would highly recommend this one. It is timeless. I connected to the characters in a way that I never have before in a classic. The themes are still relevant today and the writing is still beautiful.

star 55 out of 5

I honestly cannot tell you how much I loved this book. If you haven’t read it, you need to. The best classic that I have ever read. What do you think about it? Do you love it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: The Picture Of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

