Books

Book Review: Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Hey Guys!

The week is over, wha, that means I have to go back to work on Monday 😦 (had the week off). Seriously sucks. Anyway, that’s life I spouse. Since it is Saturday, it is time for a book review! Today it is the turn of a book that has been on my shelf for about 3 years now, today it is all about Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. Lets go!

IMG_20170514_124312_596

I actually quiet liked this book. It is a very easy book to read, I read it in an afternoon. It kind of reminded me a bit of Twilight, in the sense that it was pretty predictable and very easy to get through. I guessed basically all of the major plot twists very early on, but I found that I didn’t mind too much. I still enjoyed it, even though I figured out what was going to happen.

The main storyline was interesting enough, if a little tedious. I would have much preferred to see more of the action side of the story. If it had been a bit more like The Mortal Instruments, with the tracking down and fighting of paranormal creatures, I know the whole idea is that ‘containing them is wrong’ and all that stuff, but I feel like that would have made it more interesting, that’s all. The little snippets of action that we did see where very interesting, I would have liked more.

Because of the direction the storyline took it did make the whole book feel a bit, well, Twilight-y (side note, I like Twilight, fight me). Just in the sense that there was this brilliant concept for this world with these interesting creatures and ideas, and yet the whole book seemed to primarily focus on the romance in the book. Although, in retrospect, it was published in 2011, so at the hight of the twilight phase. It’s just that this point, this is overplayed.

Again with the characters, I would have preferred to see them kicking arse a bit more. Particularity Evie. She had so much potential to be this really strong female lead, and there where hints of it throughout, but by the end of it, I just felt like she was another weak character. She was always crying for help. And getting herself into stupid situations, which did not endear her to me. I will admit that I did like her choice at the end, although that whole was incredibly predictable, and kind of rushed.

I think that this is an okay book. I know that it is the first in a trilogy, but I don’t think that I will be continuing it. I am happy to leave this as a stand alone. It works as one, the ending is satisfying enough for it, so I am leaving it as it.

star 3.53.5 out of 5

there we have it. I am a bit conflicted over this one, because I did enjoy it, there where just elements of it that I didn’t enjoy as much. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

