Books

Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! Oh yeah! Even better, this week, it is all about a recently released book! This never happens lol. The book in question is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, so, let’s do this.

IMG_20170422_232238_063

What an incredible book. I can definitely see why this book has so much hype about it. It is such an important topic that really does need more coverage. I was honestly awed by this book. I knew that it was going to cover these really big topics, so I really took my time with reading it, but I wasn’t expected to get so invested with the characters straight from the off. I mean, by the end of the first chapter, I felt a connection to them. This is very rare in a book, particularly for me.

The storylines in this book where amazing, in a heart breaking way. The main storyline really got to me. I was really really rooting for Starr and for justice and I found myself really hating the situation and the outcome and hating it even more because I know this is what really happens. And I hate that. Why does this shit still exist! This book really highlighted the injustice of the world and the events that are taking place all the time. And it did it very truthfully It was so brilliantly written, because it was honest. It didn’t sugar-coat anything. I lost count of how many times I cried while reading this.

I was also surprised by the lesser storylines woven through the main one. I wasn’t expecting there to be so much going on around the main story, but I loved that there was. It really made everything feel that much more real, which in turn really brought the main storyline into the world…..if that makes sense. It just all worked together perfectly to make it feel like you where reading an actual account of an event, rather then a book. It made everything that bit more real and made me connect to the story even more. And made me think even more.

This is also the reason why I loved the characters in this book. Everyone was real. There where literally no two dimensional characters in this book. Everyone was shown to have flaws and strengths, to have their good qualities and their bad, to have dreams and pitfalls and just everything. They where some of the most well rounded characters that I have ever encountered.

This is without a doubt one of the most important books around. I feel like everyone needs to read it. It is one of those books that really makes you think and changes the way that you look at the world.

star 55 out of 5

honestly, this is one of the best books that I have ever read, and probably, the most important. It just covers such an important topic that does not get anywhere near enough coverage. This shit should not be happening. I am so glad that this book exists and that it is getting people talking about this. Things need to change.

Have you read this one yet? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Leave a Reply

