Books

Book Review: Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

Hey Guys!

Its book review time! Whoop whoop! Last month I started re-reading on of my favourite trilogies, and today I am finishing it. So here is my review for the final book in the Tale’s From The Kingdom series by Sarah Pinborough, Beauty. Lets do this.

IMG_20170504_072521_635

This one is definitely my favourite of the three books. It is by far the darkest and most interesting It is a prequel to the first two, it explains the back story of the Prince and the Huntsman. I love this one. As with the other two, it follows one main fairytale, but with others woven through it. Except this book does it to the extreme. The main storyline is the tale of sleeping beauty, but also of beauty and the beast, plus there is Rumpelstiltskin story and little red ridding hoods right at the front of the story. All for are very inter woven and linked. It is amazing to see. There is also an element of Rapunzel in it.

I think the reason why I love this one the most is because of the characters. I loved the Huntsman anyway, but this story really just intensifies my love for him. It gives us that bit more about him and his story. He is very much a main character in this book. But I also really love Petra in this book. She is a very strong female lead. I have liked all the female leads throughout this series, but they have all been naive or petty or could be a bit gullible, they where typical Princesses. But Petra is different. She is the arrow wielding bad arse, with a brain and a heart. She has the best of both sides, and love her for it. She really made this story.

I also love how dark and twisted this particular book is. All three have been pretty dark, but this one takes it too another level. It really drags you into the story. You are always surprised by what’s going on. At some points, even mildly repulsed by it all. It makes for a very interesting read. I remember the first time that I read this being so shocked by the direction that it took. I just love it.

I really really wish that Pinborough would write more in this series. There is so much she could do. I mean she has already hinted at lots of other stories throughout the books, and I would love to see her takes on these characters. I mean throughout these books we have had nods to, or had brief encounters with, Hansel and Gretel, Aladdin, Rapunzel, Robin Hood, and more. There are just so many stories that I would love to see Pinborough explore, but since Beauty was published in 2013, it isn’t looking likely that we will get more, which is such a shame. I really do love this series.

star 55 out of 5

if you are into retellings, you need to read this series. They are just so good. Hands down my favourite retellings. Have you read them? Do you have any retelling recommendations for me? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

