Books

Book Review: The Heart Collector by Melinda Salisbury

Hey Guys!

It bonus books review time! Woo! I haven’t done one of these in literally ages. The reason why I have decided to do this is because Melinda Salisbury, who is the author or the The Sin Eaters Daughter trilogy, recently released an e-book only bind up of three novellas based in the Sin Eater universe. Naturally, I brought this, might have pre-ordered it, and I have read it so I thought that I would do a little review for it. I think I am going to do this in my anthology style, so a summary of it as a whole but each novella with its own mini review. So, lets do this.

IMG_20170506_142604_762

I love this little novella. The Sin Eaters Daughter trilogy is one of my all time favourite series It is just a such a brilliant story and it is so underrated. So naturally, because I love it so much, I want more of it. I would love a spin series or a prequel or anything. I love the universe. And this little novella bind up has really made me want that even more. To see these little tales from the universe, I just want more. It was so nice to see more of the world, and to uncover more of the story. I really hope that at the very least Salisbury writes more novellas. This bind up was brilliant and I loved it.

star 44 out of 5

The King Of Rats

This novella was a story that is alluded too and mentioned in the main Sin Eaters Daughter trilogy. It follows the main villain of the story, Aurek before the the main trilogy begins, a long time before it does. And it kind of follows him in the lead up to the events that shape him as a person and shapes the story of the trilogy. I really liked this one. We know the basics of the particular story from the main trilogy, we hear bits of it throughout the books, but it was really nice to get the full picture of what happened and why things went the way that they did. I really liked it. It was nice to see that bit more of Aurek and Aurelia and the world before. Admittedly, I would have enjoyed it more if we hadn’t known as much of it already.

star 44 out of 5

The Heart Collector

this story explored the life of the Bringer. This is the son of Aurek, a man destined to sleep for a hundred years, beside his father, only to raise to track down a girl so his father may eat her heart and be awoken. This is a very dark tale and I love it. Ever since I read the first book in the trilogy, I have always been curious about the Bringer and what he actually is/does. And this little novella answered all my questions. It really made me understand and helped give a little bit of light to an area of the story that wasn’t massively explored in the trilogy. I really liked the fact that it kind covered all 500 years of the Bringer. This is actually one that I love to have a full novel about as I personally think it is a really interesting concept.

star 44 out of 5

Mully No-Hands

this novella was very random and unexpected, but I quiet liked it. Where the first two novella’s linked directly into the main trilogy, this had very littleΒ to do with it. The only thing that it had in common with the trilogy is that it is set in the same universe. I do believe this story is vaguely refereed to in the trilogy, but I can’t remember for sure either way. But despite its randomness, I still really liked it. It was a very interesting little story. I feel like because it was pretty much a complete stand alone story, it would have benefited from being quiet a bit longer and more fleshed out, but it was still enjoyable enough. It was probably my lest favourite story in this novella though.

star 3.53.5 out of 5

now, I just have to hope that this eventually gets published and I want this on my shelf lol. Have you read this any of the Sin Eaters Daughter trilogy? What do you think about it? Also, do you like this style of post for novella bind ups? I am planning on reading two novella bind ups soon (The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare and others, and also Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and others), or would you prefer it if I just did it as a whole thing? Let me know. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

