Books · Life

Books That I Read As A Child And Loved

Hey Guys!

I have been watching a lot of Book-tube and browsing a lot of blogs recently and I have noticed that people tend to only talk about books that they are loving at the moment/in the past few years, unless they are doing a tag, and that kind of makes me sad. As someone who has been an avid reader since, well, since I could read, it kind of bothers me that no one really talks about the books that they read and loved as a child, so today, I thought I would do exactly that. I am going to talk about some of my childhood reads.

All the books that I am going to talk about today are full on novels, not just picture books. Most are probably middle grade, since that is when I started truly reading fiction (I was obsessed with non-fiction books up until about 9…don’t know what that was about). Most of these books are also ones that I would quiet like to re-read soon. They are all books that have stuck with me over the years. So, lets do this.

KensuKensukes_Kingdon_Classic_Editionke’s Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

when I think of books that I loved growing up, this is the one that immediately jumps to mind. I read this when I was about 10 or 11 and I read it at school and I loved it. I really loved it. The story follows a young boy who is in a ship wreck and ends up alone on a small island in the middle of nowhere, except he isn’t actually alone. The story follows his fight for survival, and desire to go home. This book was just so amazing. It had adventure, drama, heartache and unlikely friendships, it was just such a good read. It breaks my heart to admit that we never actually finished it at school, so I don’t know exactly how it ends and I have never gotten around to picking it up again, but I think that I definitely need to. Even all these years on, I still find myself thinking about this book.

9781406357127-862x1024

The Giant’s Necklace by Michael Morpurgo

I have only ever read 2 Morpurgo books, both are on this list. And both where read for school. I read this in the same year as the previous book and had very similar feelings about. It is a truly heartbreaking story about a girl who is just trying to go home. I remember crying in class when reading this. It was just so beautiful. I think that this was the first book to make me cry. I will also be re-reading this one soon. I am pretty happy at the moment as several of Morpurgo’s older works are currently being re-published. A whole new audience is going to be able to fall in love with these stories.

31Qfb8DM5dL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Life On The Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers

I read this book when I was about 14 and I really didn’t bother to even read the blurb of it, I liked the cover so I checked it out of the school library, and I honestly read it in one sitting. This book follows a teenage girl and her mother as they leave each other notes on the fridge. Throughout this book yo see their lives fall apart when the mum falls ill. I remember crying so much when reading this. It was just so well told and in such a unique way. I really loved it, even if it did break me a bit. I remember recommending it to all of my friends. I will admit that although I love it, I would never read it again. I don’t think that I could mentally handle it.

1Z3_the_twits

The Twits by Roald Dahl

I read a lot of Roald Dahl growing up but there are only really a few that I truly loved. The Twits was one of them. I think the reason why I loved this one so much was because it was just so wacky and weird. It was just strange. I remember (throwback) getting a free copy of this in a box of Cheerios and reading it non stop. I must have read it about a dozen times, and made my mum read me it at least a dozen more.

image003

George’s Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl

Again, a Dahl book I loved. I can actually remember my mum reading this to me over a few nights when I was about 7 or 8 and not wanting her to stop. I wanted to know the rest. I think that this was the first book that ever gave me that longing. I loved it. Again it was so weird and whimsical. It did make me mix together so much crap in my house for about a month, but I didn’t care. I loved this book. I wanted to makes George’s concoction. I ended up reading this book so many times. (two other Dahl books that deserve a mention, but I don’t want to bore you with, Fantastic Mr Fox and also Matilda. Loved them both as well)

31qhmJCzoHL._SX305_BO1,204,203,200_

Dear Nobody by Berlie Doherty

when I was about 13 my Gran brought me a collection of Penguin teen books, and this is the only one from the collection that I actually read, and I loved it. The story follows a teen couple, I believe they are 16, as the unexpectedly fall pregnant. It is told from the boys POV (I cant remember names, sorry), but you see the girls POV through letters that she has written to her unborn child, each started, ‘Dear Nobody’. This is just such a beautiful story about consequences and young love, friendship and growing up. It is has some really tough topics in it like abortion and family struggles, but it is one of those books that stuck with me. I ended up rereading it a few years later, and it had just as much impact on me the second time around. Also, it has recently been republished, and that makes me happy.

51sQcUYpM9L._SX307_BO1,204,203,200_

The Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe by C S Lewis

Again, another book that I had to read for school, but loved. I actually loved this so much that my parents got me a complete Narnia box set that year (I never read it, but I still own it (I need to read it)). There was just something so magical about this book. I read it when I was just 8, and I really did love it. Even now, I still want to find Narnia in my wardrobe.

charlottes-web-cover

Charlotte’s Web by E B White

I honestly cant remember when or why I read this book, but I know that I did. I remember the story, I remember the writing, I just cant remember when or why. I do however remember how engrossed I was by this book. I think I read it in less then a week. I didn’t want to put it down. In this book you follow a young pig and basically, you just follow his life, his friendships and his best friend Charlotte, the spider. It is just a beautiful tale about over coming the odds and unlikely friendships. It is so beautiful and I do kind of want to read it again.

georgia-nicolson-series

The Confessions Of Georgia Nicolson by Louise Rennison

Oh my god! I loved this series. Actually, I still do. I read these for the first time when I was 13 or 14 and I read them back to back and I have honestly lost count of how many times I read them. I loved them. They are laid out as a diary and you follow 15 year old Georgia throughout her teen years. There is drama, and boys, and friendships and lot of laughter. I swear I have never laughed so hard at a book. Think Bridget Jones, but for teens. I cannot tell you how much I love these books. It also helps that they are set in Brighton (I live just down the road) and we are pretty sure, the school is based of the high school I went too (I don’t just mean that in a vague way, I mean it is literally the same place. All girls, super strict uniform, bloody beret, evil science teacher, bitchy prefects, the back ally where people snuck out and smoked….literally, it is that school). I reread these last year and fell in love with them all over again. They are just so funny and honest.

231815._UY200_

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

again, I read this book for school and I honestly cant remember that much about it. What I do remember is that I loved it. Really truly loved it. I remember it being this really beautiful story and this is about it. I really want to reread this soon.

IMG_20170527_151500_497Harry Potter by J K Rowling

I was quiet late to the potter game. I was watching the films since the first one came out, but I dint read any of the books until they where all out. I think the first time was about 2008, so I was 12. I remember having to be convinced to read it (that was during the, readings not cool, phase every pre-teen has) and eventually caving. And oh my god am I glad I did. These books are not only incredible, but they jump started my love for reading all over again. I honestly don’t know how many times I have read these books now, it must be at least 25 times. I generally reread the whole series once a year, and I buy every child I know a copy of the first book. I just love them. They are the only books that I can read back to back. (also, fun fact for you, when ever I read them, I have the listen to The Script’s first album or the Son Of Dork album, as I listened to them on repeat while reading these books for the first time and they just scream Potter to me. Whenever I hear any of them, I instantly remanence)

and there we have it. Those where some of the books that I read as a child and loved. I really enjoyed looking back and thinking about all of these books. If you would like me to do this again, let me know. Also, would you like to see this but for my teen years? Or my before blog years? Let me know. I really hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and that, hopefully, it has made you reminisce about your childhood a bit. I would love to know what you loved growing up. I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

