Books

Book Review: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Hey Guys!

Welcome to my final post of Mental Health Awareness week. As usual, since it is Sunday, it is time for another book review. And today’s book deals with depression and suicide. The book in question is Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick. Lets do this.

IMG_20170508_103927_084

I have wanted to read this book for a couple of years now, and I have never gotten around to it until now. This seemed like the perfect time to pick it up. I knew the basics of this book, I have seen a lot of book-tubers and bloggers talking about it, but I was still surprised by it. I have only really read on or two ya books that deal with depression and suicide and what I have read I was disappointed in. nothing that I’ve read really seemed to portray this topic that accurately That is until now.

Quick did a brilliant job at showing what this is actually like. I have personally experienced some aspects of depression and the likes that has been caused by my anxiety, but not to the degree of this book. However one of my best friends has, so I do know what it is like. And from my experience, this book portrayed it pretty accurately With this sort of things there are ups and there are downs. One minute everything looks alright, and the next you can be spiralling down. This is shown in this book. You see the highs and the lows. The little sparks of light in the dark. You see that even at the lowest moment, there is still that urge to keep fighting. This was all very accurate and well done. This is by far the best book on this topic that I have read.

It also accurately portrayed how blind and oblivious those around us can be. People don’t see what they don’t want to. And when they do see it, they assume someone else will intervene People don’t want to deal with other people’s shit. This was all shown perfectly in this book. Although this is also what I didn’t like about it. I didn’t like just how oblivious people were. Particularly the adults/parents in it. That is the issue I always have with books of this topic, its how oblivious the parents are. I don’t know if this is just a personal problem (if you saw my Anxiety post during the week you will understand why I say that) or if this is a genuine issue with this category, I don’t know. But it is something that I dislike.

I will say that Quick created some really accessible characters. I really related to Leonard. I understand why he felt the way that he did, I understood his thoughts and his emotions and his feelings. And I really connected to him. I found myself really rooting for him. Really wanting him to fight and survive. To live. I just really did feel connected to him and felt like I understood him.

I will also admit that I didn’t like the last couple of chapters. I feel like I would have preferred it if the book ended at the end of 32 or 33. I feel like that would have been a nicer ending. The actual ended just left me super pissed off at Linda, I would have preferred to have ended it thinking that things change and get better and everything. When in reality I am left thinking that it could all go wrong again. I also feel like the ending almost trivializes some of it. I hate this idea that things suddenly just get better, because that’s not how it works. Yes, you can hit the bottom and then decided to fight back, that happens, but the way that this one is written makes it seem, I don’t know, just a bit trivial. I don’t know, that may just be me over analysing. Because all in all, I really liked this book and found it to be a really good representation of depression and suicide.

star 44 out of 5

And there we have it. This was defiantly the best book on this topic that I have read so far. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? Are there any books on this topic that you could recommend to me? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and that you know that if you are struggling in any way, that you can contact me. I will always be here to listen, you don’t have to do this alone. I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Mind UK – 0300 123 3393 (or text 86463)

Smaraitans – 116 123

Crisis Helpline (USA) – 1-800-273-TALK (8255)

My Email Address – beth.escapefromreality@mail.com (I check it daily)

Leave a Reply

