Books

Book Review: The Perks Of Being A Wall Flower by Stephen Chbosky

Hey Guys!

Happy Saturday! Today I am continuing my series of mental health awareness post this week with a book that explores mental health and mental illness. Tomorrow will be the same. But back to today. Today’s book review is for The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Lets go!

IMG_20170501_195156_167

Firstly, this was a re-read for me. I read this book back in July 2015 and I really enjoyed it, but, that’s all I could remember about it. Back then I read, but I wasn’t as much of a reader as I am now and I feel like most of what I read then was in one and out the other….if that makes sense. This means that I have known that I wanted to re-read this one for ages, and now felt like the perfect time, and you know what, I loved it even more this time around.

I had forgotten how incredible this book was. So much so, it felt like I was reading it for the first time. Especially since I really couldn’t remember much about it, aside from the fact that I enjoyed it. I also remembered that there where elements of mental health/illness in here, but I couldn’t remember what. I am actually glad that I couldn’t It meant that I was really paying attention to the story and kind of analysing it as I read. I was automatically picking out little bits and kind of filing them away and cross referencing them and, I don’t know. I sound weird, but I know you know what I mean. I was inside Charlie’s mind. And the interesting thing bout this book is it never actively conforms what Charlie is suffering from, although you figure it out yourself.

This is the first book that I have read that explores PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) and I feel like it did it very well. It showed that mental illness fluctuate and changes on a day to day basis. One day you can be happy and on top of the world, the next you don’t ever want to get out of bed. A lot of, particularity YA, books just kind of show mental illness as something that gets better over night. And that isn’t the case. But this book actually showed that it is a long journey and can take years. I really liked this. I also loved that Chbosky showed the illness that are associated with PTSD. It showed the side effects. We saw Charlie have anxiety and depression, you saw his isolation and how he escapes into himself. This was just refreshing to see as it painted the whole picture. And it did it honestly.

Also, the writing is beautiful. It is actually stunning. I don’t know what it is exactly, but there is just something amazing about the way Chbosky writes. It is such a shame that this is the only thing that he has written because he really does have talent I cannot explain to you how much I love his writing, or this book in general. I feel like this is one of those books that everyone should read in their lifetime. It really makes you think and asses the world around you.

star 55 out of 5

and there we have it. I really do love this book. I am so glad that I decided to read it again. I really did appreciate it so much more the second time around. Have you read this? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

