Books

Book Review: Vampire Knight V1 by Matsuri Hino

Hey Guys!

It’s time for another book review! Well, actually, today it isn’t a book really, it is a manga. Something that I haven’t read in several years, but have been getting into again recently, so there will probably be more of these to come. But anyway, today it is all about Vampire Knight V1 by Matsuri Hino. Let’s do this.

IMG_7406

I watched the anime of this last summer and was very torn over it. I felt like the story had potential, but it was pretty laughable in its execution. I mean seriously, my sister and I where tempted to make a drink game out of it. Take a shot every time they said the word Vampire, Zero or ‘it’s been four years’. We laughed. A lot. But I saw a second hand copy of the manga for about Β£3 recently and thought that I would give it a go and see what I thought about it. And I actually ended up quiet liking it. I enjoyed it a lot more then I thought that I would.

Although the anime is essentially just a digitalized version of this, I feel like the manga is better. It feels more in-depth As if there is a lot more going on. And certain things feel more thoroughly thought out in the book. Once I got used to reading backwards again (it’s been a long time), I really enjoyed this. I whizzed through it. I just feel like it is a topic with a lot of potential. It is different and interesting and I like it. I am interested to see how the story progresses throughout the books (I only watched the first part of the anime, I don’t know the full story, or remember much of it).

And I love the artwork in this book. Some of manga’s that I have read in the past have nice artwork, but it isn’t stuff that I love. I do love this. It is really beautiful at times. I don’t know what it is in particular about the art work that I like, I just like it. I like the character design, the world, just all of it. Actually, I just like the characters in general. I’m not sold on Yuki, I feel like she a bit naive and a little bit annoying but I really like Kaname and Zero. Particularly Zero. I feel like he is such an interesting character. There is a lot going on with him and I am interested to see how he develops throughout this series (I do also think Zero looks like Jem from the Infernal Devices series, but I think that’s just me.).

Overall I did like this. A lot more then I thought that I would. I will definitely be buying more of this series in the future and I am excited to see where the story goes.

star 44 out of 5

And there we go. I had forgotten how much I like Manga’s. They are just so nice to read. Have you read Vampire Knight? What did you think about it? Any recommendation for me? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Vampire Knight V1 by Matsuri Hino

  1. I’ve not read Vampire Knight, or any Manga. I’ve read a few graphic novels and comics, like Saga and Sex Criminals, which obviously aren’t the same thing, but I’d love to branch out into them. I do have Death Note and Tokyo Ghoul V1 on my shelf, waiting to be read. And now I want to read this one β€” mainly because I love anything with vampires. As if I didn’t have enough things to read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

