Books

Book Review: Charm by Sarah Pinborough

Hey Guys!

Happy Sunday! Can you believe that April is done? I swear this year is going by so fast. Anyway. It is time for a book review: Today I am continuing re-reading the trilogy that I started last week. So, without further ado, here is my review for Charm by Sarah Pinborough.

IMG_20170421_115446_743

God I love these books. I swear, they are the best fairytale retellings that I have read. They are just so imaginative and well written. Pinborough injects new life into these classic stories so brilliantly. She gives them a whole new feel, while somehow still staying true to them. I love it. This book followed the story of Cinderella, but with massive twists. These books are very dark and twisted, but also new and sexy.

Everything is connected in this world. That is what I love about these books. Everyone’s connected to each other and everyone’s stories criss-cross with each others They weave around and twist and turn and all inter-loop in one way or another. This makes for such an interesting read and makes everything feel very fresh. It really does give these classic stories a breath of new life. There are all these little mentions and references to other fairy-tale’s scattered throughout. I mean, the first book was based around Snow White, this one Cinderella, and the last one Red Ridding Hood (if memory serves me right), but we have glimpses of Rumpelstiltskin, Aladdin, Robin Hood, Hansel and Gretel and more. There are just little hints to the rest of this world. I really wish that Pinborough would write more of these books. And tackle more of these stories.

I think the reason why these books work so well is the characters. They are the classic characters that we know, but they also aren’t They have flaws, they aren’t perfect. This makes them feel so really and three dimensional. In the original stories they could feel very flat, that isn’t the case any-more Pinborough has made everyone seem very human. And completely changed the way that we look at and see some characters. And this is brilliant. This is exactly what you want from a retelling. And she has also put modern twists on the story as well, for instance, there is a LGBT relationship in these books. Admittedly it is a main line in this book, but it was there and it was also there in the first book, if you actually pay attention.

I just love these books so much. I really really wish that she would write more of them. There is so much potential for Pinborough to do dozens of these. I would love to see the whole Aladdin story, maybe some of the other princesses, just everyone. All the stories that I grew up with.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

if you haven’t read these books, you need to. I had forgotten how good they are. I honestly love them so much. They are brilliant. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Charm by Sarah Pinborough

    1. These are brilliant books. I wish she would write more. If you like them, I would also suggest the ‘A Beastly Tale’ trilogy by M J Haag. It’s a adult beauty and the best retelling that is pretty good

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

