Books

Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! Today it is the turn of a book that I have never had any really feelings about reading, but that I recently brought on a whim and decided to give a go. The book in question is Paper Towns by John Green. So, here are my thoughts on it.

IMG_20170418_081129_737

This is only my second John Green. I read The Fault In Our Stars last year and liked it, but I didn’t love it. I didn’t quiet get what all the fuss is about with Green. And I still don’t. But since everyone does rave about him so much I thought that I should give him another chance, and see if he wows me. I still don’t get the hype, but, I did enjoy this book. I think that I actually preferred it to TFIOS. It was a really good read. I got thorough this book so quickly.

I really enjoyed this storyline. It was really interesting because you where trying to figure this stuff out alongside Q. You are following Margo’s clues and looking for answers. You felt like you where uncovering the story. I will admit that it is one of those books that you feel like you have been reading for hours, but not any progress on. I swear, at one point it took me like an hour to read 20 pages. It is a book that requires concentration. The storyline is complex and the writing style is on the wordier side…..if that makes sense. It’s just a lot of work to read it. I would not recommend reading this one if you are tired. You will get lost.

I think that the reason I liked this book more then TFIOS was because of the characters. They all felt more relatable. I really liked the group. They just felt very real. And they funny. Particularly in the last section of the book I found myself laughing out loud at some points (mainly parts involving pee, but still). There where some very very funny moments in this book. It was nice considering the slightly darker aspects of the story. Especially considering we spend most of the book wondering if Margo is even alive. I just feel like the characters in this book had a very good dynamic.

All in all, I really liked this one. Once I got into it, I didn’t want to put it down. I’m still not sure how I feel about Green as an author, but, I will probably give more of his books a go. This one was imaginative and sweet and funny and dramatic. I liked it. Although, admittedly, I’m not sure how I feel about the ending. It was a bit anti-climatic.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

There we have it. Have you read this one? What are you thoughts on Green? I really don’t get what all the hype is about, I mean, don’t get me wrong, he is a good author, but so are so many other people. I don’t know. Oh well. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

Leave a Reply

