Books

Book Review: Poison by Sarah Pinborough

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! Today is actually a reread for me. I read this book in late 2015 and loved it, but I can’t really remember it that well as I was just coming out of a slump at the time. So I have decided to re-read it, well to re-read the trilogy. So, without further ado, here is Poison by Sarah Pinborough. Let’s do this.

IMG_7382(1)

I had forgotten how good this book is. It is such an underrated book. More people need to talk about this trilogy. I think that this may be the best retelling that I have read so far. It is dark and sexy, funny and interesting. I really love it. It is one of those books that you just want to devour. Both times that I have read it, it has been in one sitting. Once you pick it up, you don’t want to put it down.

It is amazing how much a 200 page book can pull you in and grip you. You end up so invested in the story and the characters. The storyline is so brilliant. It is the basic story of snow white that we now, but with these amazing twists. And with so many other characters dotted throughout, some of which are only mentioned in passing. This is such a lovely touch because it shows how this is all just one big world, which I know from experience, links in very nicely with the rest of the trilogy Everything twists and manipulates around everything else and it leads to such a deep read. There is just so much going on. And I am noticing things that I didn’t pick up on first time around.

I think the reason why I love this book so much is because of the characters. Everyone is so fleshed out it is brilliant. Every single character has so many individual personality traits and so many little details. I love the fact that Pinborough has taken the characters that we know and love and made them so much more three dimensional. Each character has complex layers to them. They are almost like enhanced versions of themselves, if that makes sense. It makes them so much easier to connect with. This is particularity the case with Snow. As a character I have always found her a bit wet and limp. She was always my least favourite Princess when I was growing up because of this fact. But I love this version of her. In this book she is smart and brave and strong and confident. She is kind and wild. Free and trapped. She is such a well rounded person in these books and that is brilliant to see. And it is the same with all the characters.

I honestly love these books so much. Not only are they interesting and exciting they are beautiful in ever sense. They are beautifully written, the covers are stunning, the storylines are incredible and so unique. I just love them. I really don’t know how these books get so little attention. They deserve so much more love then they receive.

star 55 out of 5

I cannot speak highly enough of this trilogy. I absolutely adore it. These books are just so damn good. I am so glad that I decided to re-read them. Have you read these ones? What did you think about them? Any retelling recommendations? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Poison by Sarah Pinborough

Leave a Reply

