First Impressions · Life

First Impressions: Seventeen, Nail Varnish

Hey Guys!

Welcome back to my blog. Today I am doing another first impressions post. I really love making these posts. They give me a reason to actually try new products and take some chances (I am a creature of habit lol). Anyway, today’s first impressions post is, once again, for a nail varnish. So, lets do this.

wp-image-39621393jpg.jpg

If you guys have followed me for a while you will know that I love having my nails painted, it is basically the only beauty/cosmetic thing that I truly maintain and enjoy doing. This love means that I am always buying more nail varnish and trying new brands. A few weeks ago I was ordering a couple of new Barry M shades offline and decided to have a little look around and see if there where any others that caught my eye and I spotted Seventeen. I have never used anything by this brand before. It is a very cheap and affordable brand, and I have always kind of, unintentionally, avoided them. But at the time they had a 3 for £3 deal on their Carnival nail varnish collection so I decided to give them a go. I mean, it was £3, it wasn’t going to break the bank.

The three colours that I brought where Khaki Green, Pale Green and Beige Nude. At this moment in time I have briefly tested both the greens (essentially swatched them when they arrived) but I have actually worn the beige one. It is the most Spring like colour that I brought. The other two are more summer or autumn shades, so I wont be trying them for a while. But, I really like the colours. Beige Nude it very neutral It is perfect for this time of year, but I feel like it will also be lovely in the summer with a tan. I quiet like it. It is a bit nude-ier (yes, I am making up words again) then I would usually wear, but I sill quiet like it. I am little unsure about my feelings toward Pale Green. It is a mint green with blue undertones, nice enough, but, it is a lot brighter then I thought that it would be. It appeared a lot more pastel online, it isn’t I don’t know how much I will end up wearing this one. But, it’s alright. My favourite though is defiantly Khaki Green. I love this colour in general, especially in the autumn. I have tried several in the past, but this is without a doubt the best that I have found so far. It is a true Khaki shade and so nice. I really like.

The varnish itself is…..passable. It isn’t brilliant, but it isn’t terrible either. Its a bit meh. It is a very thin, watery consistency This means that you really have to build the colour up in order to get full coverage on your nails. I think I ended up doing 3 coats on some nails, 4 on others. It isn’t brilliant But, once you have built it up, the colour is pretty good. It looks like it does in the bottle, it is a true colour. It is nice. It just does take some time to build it up.

Also, because of its watery consistency, it isn’t the easiest polish to apply. It was kind of drippy (thank god I wasn’t using my laptop as a table that day). This meant that it was a bit streaky, that’s why I had to do an extra coat on some nails, just to try and eliminate this a bit. It also got a couple of air bubbles in it, which is very annoying. But over all, it was alright. What you would expect when you are only paying £1 per nail varnish (Seventeen nail varnishes are between £1.99 and £3.99 when not on offer). They also dry pretty quickly which is good because I am kind of impatient lol. I was also surprised by how well they wore. They did cheap fairly easily, but not as much as I was expecting.

I wont be rushing to buy more of these, but I don’t hate them. I will use them, and if I ever come across a colour by them that I really like, I will get it. They are a decent enough, cheap brand. Not incredible, but good enough.

And there we have it. Have you tried any Seventeen products? Any that you would recommend? Also, any nail varnish brands that I should try? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Seventeen, Nail Varnish

  1. Hope writing helps you thing I loved about your posts is you write what love you Dont try get more reader just writing what you want that’s great keep it up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, that is really sweet. I always wrote about what I love, and I love what I write. Writing is what keeps me grounded and sane. I’m glad that you enjoy it 😊 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

