Books

Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Hey Guys!

Happy Easter! I hope you are all having a nice day. Since it is Sunday, it is time for another book review. This week it is the turn of The Young Elites by Marie Lu. Lets do this.

IMG_20170414_074442_936

Wow. What a book. I can definitely see why so many people love these books. This was brilliant. It had so much going on, I loved it. There was action and drama, love and betrayal, murder and rescues There wasn’t a boing minute. There was always something happening. And there where so many different storylines twisting and weaving around each other. I really enjoyed it.

The storyline itself is brilliant It is so dark and twisted, but with these little rays of light sprinkled throughout it. I really liked it. It was very similar to the Read Queen series, but so much better. It was such an interesting concept. These poor teenagers, disowned and distrusted by all of society, including their families, yet still standing strong and fighting for themselves. It is just brilliant. It is horrific and terrible but also amazing. It unpredictable nature of the story really keeps you on the edge of your seat. I never really knew what was going to happen next. And the twist at the end, OH MY GOD! I was not expecting that.

Furthermore the characters where amazing. They all felt very real and three dimensional They had their flaws and their troubles, but they also had their skills and friendships. They where just like normal people. This made them so easy to connect with. I particularity liked Adelina. Even with everything that happened. She reflected the darkest parts of us all. Who can honestly say that they have never thought something terrible, something horrid that they would never ever do, or consciously think, but its there. Adelina was the embodiment of this. The darkness in her was so brilliantly written that you couldn’t help but connect with her. I also loved Enzo, kind of for the same reason. Under his cool, collected, facade, was this unsure teenager. He knew what he had to do, what his birth right was, and yet, he was still kind of, vulnerable. He was so young, but with such responsibility placed upon him. The fate of an entire generation rested on his shoulders. You could see the cracks in him. I also loved Raffaele. I want him as my friend. I just do. Read this book, and you will instantly see why. He is just so sweet and caring and, I just, I need him in my life.

Overall I really really liked this book. I flew through it. I just didn’t want to put it down, it was so gripping. I am really interested to see how this trilogy is going to progress. To see what is going to happen. Especially after what was hinted at in the epilogue

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I honestly loved this book so much. I cant see myself waiting long before I pick up The Rose Society. This book was just amazing and I am officially in love with this trilogy. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

