Books

Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Hey Guys!

God I am glad that it is the weekend. I am completely exhausted. I think I may just sleep for two days straight lol. Anyway, since it is Saturday, it is time for a book review. Today it is the turn of Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

IMG_20170326_115451_725

Firstly, I highly recommend listening this as an audiobook. It is fantastic. The narrator, Rebecca Ssoler, does a amazing job with this one. She is a brilliant voice actress and really made this story. I ended up actually reading the last 70 pages (don’t ask) and much preferred listening to it. Some books just work better as audiobooks, and this was one of them. If you can, I really recommend reading it this way.

I really enjoyed the story. It was fun and sweet, dramatic and whimsical. It was very wonderland-y. I loved it. It has been a very long time since I read Alice in wonderland (I think I was around 8), but this took me right back. It had that same strange, slightly tripy, quality to it. I wasn’t expecting it to be this good. This was my first Meyer book, and it will not be my last. Admittedly I did see a lot of plot twists coming, pretty much straight away. For instance, the Jabberwock thing. But even with these suspicions, I still really enjoyed it. I was instantly dragged into this story and just devoured it. I really enjoyed it.

I think what made this story was the characters. I loved that we saw these people develop and change. And you knew where they where eventually heading, but it was so interesting to witness their journeys. This was just so nice to see. Sometimes books like this, prequels in general, can feel a bit flat and lifeless, this didn’t This was a brilliant book and a good stand alone. You don’t need to have read Alice to appreciate and enjoy this one. The characters are so well fleshed out that if the first time you are meeting them, you still get to know them and understand them. I also really liked the edition of new characters such as Jest. This made the story feel very fresh. It gave it it’s own flair.

My only complaint of this book was that it was a bit predictable. I mean, I always knew, at least vaguely, how it would end, but other aspects of it, the secondary storylines where also pretty predictable. I knew where things where going. But, people say the same about Cinder (the first book in Meyer’s Luna Chronicles series).

But, even with this predictability, I still really enjoyed this book. It was a fresh new take on wonderland and the story. It has left me really wanting to re-read Alice now. It has also left me wanting to read Cinder. And I really, really enjoyed the audiobook. I am so glad that I decided to read it this way. I don’t know if I would have loved it as much if I had actively read it.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

and there we have it. Those where my thoughts on Heartless. I would love to know yours. Have you read it? Did you enjoy it? Personally, I think that this is one of my favourite retellings. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

