Books

Books That I Am Excited For

Hey Guys!

Today I wanted to do something that I haven’t really ever done before and talk about some upcoming releases in books that I am really excited for. I usually don’t have many not yet released books on my wishlist, but at the moment I have a lot. There are some really incredible sounding books coming out this year that I am so excited for so I thought that I would have a little chat about them. I will only do this for books that are being released over the next 3 months, and then, if you like it, I might make it a quarterly thing. But, without further a do, lets do this.

wp-1491671527526.jpg

Words In Deep Blue by Cath Crowley – 6th June 2017

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.
Now Rachel has returned to the city–and to the bookshop–to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.
As Henry and Rachel work side by side–surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages–they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

I feel like this one is going to have similar vibes to a couple of contemporarys that I have read in the last couple of years. It feels a bit like it is going to be The Sky Is Everywhere meets Dash And Lily, with a twist. It just sounds like it is going to be a brilliant contemporary to read during summer. I am pretty excited for this one.

51xyf26DdSL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Wilde Like Me by Louise Pentland – 29th June 2017

Meet Robin Wilde! You’ll make a friend for life and she’ll take you on a journey you’ll never forget …

Single mum Robin Wilde adores her six-year-old daughter and loves her job as a make up artist’s assistant. She has a wonderful best friend and an auntie who is bonkers, yes, but loves her to the moon and back.

But Robin has a secret. Behind the mask she carefully applies every day, things just feel … grey. And lonely. She struggles to fit in with the school mum crew. Online dating is totally despair-inducing, and she worries every day about raising her little girl with self-confidence, courage and joy.

What Robin longs for is someone (over the age of six) to share with – someone who’s always on her team.

After 4 years (2 months, and 15 days!) of single-mum-dom, it’s time for Robin Wilde to Change. Her. Life.

Exciting new opportunities are about to come Robin’s way … Perhaps a man, perhaps the chance of a lifetime …

What will Robin do with the possibilities she creates for herself? And what potential will she unlock if she takes the leap?

I have watched Louise’s videos for literally years. I think that she is a wonderful endorsement for strong, independent women, so as she announced this book I was instantly interested in it. The more that I have learnt about it, the more I want to read it. This book sounds as if it going to be brilliant. I really hope that it is as good as it sounds. I know that there is generally a lot of hate around Youtuber’s books, but I personally do not think it is justified. No-one gets pissy when celebs release books, so why get pissy about Youtubers. Rant over.

wp-1491671524637.jpg

Release by Patrick Ness – 4th May 2017

It’s Saturday, it’s summer and, although he doesn’t know it yet, everything in Adam Thorn’s life is going to fall apart. But maybe, just maybe, he’ll find freedom from the release. Time is running out though, because way across town, a ghost has risen from the lake…

I read A Monster Calls earlier this year and absolutely adored it and this one is rumoured to be on the same level of it. Everyone that I have heard talking about this one is saying how brilliant it sounds. I know a lot of people feel that AMC is Ness’s best work, it is the only one I have read, so I hope that this one is going to just as good as it. Fingers crosses. I cannot wait to read this one.

wp-1491671521720.png

A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom – 4th May 2017

How can you have a future if you can’t accept your past?

Mel Hannigan doesn’t have it easy. Mourning the death of her firework of a brother, facing the loss of three friendships that used to mean everything to her and struggling to deal with a condition that even her closest friends don’t know about. To protect herself and everyone else, Mel tries to lock away her heart, to live quietly without pain – but also without hope.

Until the plight of an old friend, and meeting someone new, shows her that the risk is worth taking, that opening up to life – and who you really are – is what can make everything glorious… And that maybe Mel can discover a tragic kind of wonderful of her very own.

A beautiful, captivating story about living with mental illness, and loving – even with a broken heart.

Again, this one sounds very interesting. I have never read anything by Lindstrom but this sounds really good. I think that this is going to be another brilliant summer read and I have a feeling I will end up getting it as soon as it is released. I really love contemporarys that deal with deeper issues and have more complexe storylines, so this one sounds perfect for me.

wp-1491671518950.jpg

Hunted by Meagan Spooner – 20th April 2017

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. After all, her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering its secrets. So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters out of their comfortable home among the aristocracy and back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance. The Beast.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange creature back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of magical creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin, or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

This beauty and beast retelling sounds amazing. It has been released elsewhere already and every review I have seen of it are all saying how incredible it is. I don’t think that I have heard a single bad thing about this one. I cannot wait to read it.

wp-1491671515644.jpg

Because You Love To Hate Me by Various – 11th July 2017

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .

Authors: Renee Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon

BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoe Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).

You all know how much I love a good anthology and this one sounds so unique I need to read it. I am really curious as to how this is going to work. It sounds very intriguing and several booktubers that I watch are involved in it, so I really want to see if this works and what its like. I am really into fairytale retellings so this right up my street. Plus, the cover is beautiful.

23308087

Flame In The Mist by Renée Ahdieh – 18th May 2017

Mariko has always known that being a woman means she’s not in control of her own fate. But Mariko is the daughter of a prominent samurai and a cunning alchemist in her own right, and she refuses to be ignored. When she is ambushed by a group of bandits known as the Black Clan enroute to a political marriage to Minamoto Raiden – the emperor’s son – Mariko realises she has two choices: she can wait to be rescued… or she can take matters into her own hands, hunt down the clan and find the person who wants her dead.

Disguising herself as a peasant boy, Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan’s hideout and befriends their leader, the rebel ronin Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami. Ranmaru and Okami warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. But as Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she’s ever known.

It is a Mulan retelling. Need I say more? This sounds absolutely incredible and i cannot wait to read it. I have seen a few people with ARC’s of this talking about it, and everyone i have seen so far says how amazing it is. I want it, like, now.

And there we have it. Those are a few books that are being released before within the next three months that I am really excited for. I am also excited for the new house editions of Harry Potter and the Philosophers stone that are being released in June to celebrate its 20th anniversary, but it seemed pointless to talk to much about that one. Are there any books that you are excited for? Any recommendations? I hope that you have enjoyed todays post and I will see you all again very soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

2 thoughts on “Books That I Am Excited For

Leave a Reply

