Books

Book Review: Strays (Red Kings MC) by Emma Kendrick

Hey Guys!

Happy Saturday! How are we all today? It is once again time for another book review. This week’s book I was lucky enough to receive a copy of by the author. It is the first book in the Red Kings MC series by Emma Kendrick. So, without further ado, here is my review for Strays.

wp-image-1618462281jpg.jpg

I was actually very surprised by this book. I really liked it. I will be completely honest with you, I am always kind of nervous when reading books by indie authors. I don’t know why. I think it might be because the first couple that I read way back when where kind of crap, I don’t know. But I really didn’t need to be with this one. It was very good and I really enjoyed it. So much so that I have ended up staying up till gone 1am, just to finish it.

I will openly admit that I did struggle to get into it at the first. It is written in third person narrative, which, in general, I can have issues with you. I kind of have to get into the right mindset for it, if that makes since (I’m weird, just accept it). I have also been struggling with this in general lately. I swear it is just taking me so long to get into books at the moment. But, once I did get into it, I couldn’t put it down. Once I got past the first 50 pages, which where mainly scene setting and world building, I really started to get into the story. It had me hooked. I liked that there where so many layers to the story. You could see all these different types of relationships and how they affect different people and different things. And you could see loyalties and fears and passions and, it was just a very strong world for a debut author. Kendrick has clearly thought out her world and story very thoroughly and it really shows.

The characters where very relatable. Particularly Jackie. I could understand her really well. I got her fears and her passions, I understood her relationships and her actions and, well, just her in general. It was very easy to connect with her. I also really liked the other characters. Dean and Tyler, Nash and Taco, Bianca and everyone else. Everyone felt very human and realistic And you really could see the connections between them all. I will admit that I did struggle a little bit with keeping up with who was who in the more secondary characters. There where quiet a lot, as is the nature with a group like this, and it did became a little complicated to remember who was who. Which character had which characteristic that sort of thing. But I feel like this is something that will become easier to remember as the series progresses and we get to know the characters better.

Overall I really did enjoy this one. For a debut novel, this is very strong. I honestly could not put it down. It had me so gripped. I just had to know what was going to happen. And I really want to know what’s going to happen next. I cannot wait for Kendrick to finish the next book.

star 44 out of 5

and there we go. Those where my thoughts on Strays. I really did enjoy this one. I really do need to give indie authors more of a chance. This book was very good. Have you read this one? Any indie authors I should check out? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

