Books

Book Review: Generation Next by Oli White

Hey Guys!

God! Am I glad that this week is finally over! It has been stressful af. Anyway, lets end the week properly, with a book review. Today it is the turn of a book that has been on my shelf for about a year now, and that book is Generation Next by Oli White. Lets do this.

wp-image-949933035jpg.jpg

I brought this book when it first came out. I had never intended to buy it, but I thought that it sounded interesting and it was half price and in the limited edition cover (which is super pretty), so I brought it and thought that I would just give it a go. It has been a year now and I have only just picked it up and only because the sequel comes out next week and I need to know whether or not to buy it (I will need to get the limited edition version so it will match). But I have finally gotten to it and you know what, it wasn’t that bad. It wasn’t the best, most jaw dropping book that I have ever read, but I did like it.

The storyline was pretty interesting. I don’t think that I have ever read a book about a topic like this. I felt like the book well thought out and creative, admittedly it was a bit predictable, but it was still enjoyable. I wasn’t completely gripped by it, but I did want to know what was going on and how things where going to work out. I expected some of the plot twists but not all of them. And some of the twists where different to what I thought that they would be, but still good. It did take me a while to get my head around the writing style. It was a first person narrative, normal enough, but every now and again the POV would address the audience. Basically it kept breaking the fourth wall, which really through me. I don’t know why, but it really did and it took me a while to just kind of accept it. I don’t know why this was done and I don’t think it was needed, but it was a thing.

I did quiet like the characters, although at times the friendship felt a bit forced. The characters themselves where likeable enough though. I particularly liked that they where all different and did reflect actual friendship groups irl. I quite liked Jack. I thought that he was a nice perspective to hear the story from, although he could be a bit stubborn, but I liked that he was very human and was like every teenage boy, a bit dumb, particularly when it come to love interests. I’m not sure how I felt about his family situation. I mean it was nice that there where other things going on, but I don’t feel like it was needed. I feel like it was down played to much for the situation. But moving on. I quiet liked all the other characters, even though you didn’t see much of some of them. I particularly liked Ava. I thought that she was just brilliant.

Overall, it wasn’t a masterpiece but I did enjoy it. I got through it pretty quickly and I am interested to see how the story progresses in the sequel (which I will be buying). I feel like for a debut novel, this was pretty strong. Yes, it could do with a bit of work, but I liked it.

star 3.53.5 out of 5

there we have it. I am curious to know what you thought about this one. Have you read it? Did you like it? Or did you feel like it needed more work? Let me know. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Generation Next by Oli White

Leave a Reply

