Books

Book Review: The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury

Hey Guys!

It’s that time of the week again, it’s book review time! Whoop whoop! Today it is the turn of a book that I have been eagerly awaiting for so long. It is the last book in the Sin Eaters Daughter trilogy Today it is all about The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury.

The Scarecrow Queen

Well that certainly didn’t disappoint This book was brilliant. It was fast paced and action packed, it was full of hope and loss, betrayal and allies. Just everything that you could ever want in a book. I don’t think that there was a dull moment in it. I honestly think this trilogy deserves far more recognition then it gets. It really is amazing.

The story picked up right from where the second book left off and instantly set a fast pace. There was always something going one. Sometimes something big, sometimes something small. But always constant. It was just a joy to read. It was always interesting and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. What worked so well with this book was that it was full of contradictions and opposites You had allies that where enemies and enemies that where allies. You had ex-lovers turned enemies and ex-enemies turned lovers. You name it, there was an opposite to it. This had such an amazing effect because it kept you guessing. You never knew who you could trust and who you should be weary off. The good and the bad mingled so perfectly. I loved it. This whole book was just designed to keep you on the edge of your seat. I couldn’t put it down.

And the character progression in this book was brilliant. And I’m not just talking within this particular book, but how the characters have progressed from the start of the series. For instance Twylla has grown so much it is almost shocking She has gone from being this meek and mild young girl, who was gullible and constantly being used, to being this strong, independent woman who forms armies and takes down golems and just, she is incredible. She has grown so much. And the same goes for the other characters. Errin, Merek, as much as it pains me to say it, Lief. Everyone has grown and changed so much. They are all completely different people then they where at the start. It was just wonderful to see.

I will admit that I wasn’t 100% sold on the ending. It felt a bit rushed and anti-climatic. After everything that they went through, it just felt like a bit too little. I don’t know, that may just be because I had certain things that I wanted to happen in the end. I also had issues with the very last few pages, just because that really wasn’t the outcome that I wanted. But oh well, we cant have it all.

For the most part I really loved this book, well actually, I really loved the whole trilogy This one seriously deserves a lot more recognition because it is incredible It is one of my favourite trilogies and more people need to read it.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I honestly cant speak highly enough of these books. They are amazing. If you haven’t read them yet, you need to. Although one piece of advice, read them close to each other. This is a complicated world full of unusual names and strange legends and it can get confusing if the whole trilogy isn’t fresh in your mind. But do read them. Have you tried them yet? Do you love them as much as I do? What did you think about the ending? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

