Books

Book Review: It’s Not Me, It’s You by Stephanie Kate Strohm

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time! Whoop whoop! Today’s book is It’s Not Me, It’s You by Stephanie Kate Strohm, Let’s do this.

wp-image-1230307374jpg.jpg

Firstly I am going to express my hatred for this book cover. The American version is pretty and simplistic and very nice and contemporary and just perfect for the story, the English version is horrid. It is really childish and shallow and I hate it. I didn’t even look at this book for months, despite Amazon constantly recommending it to me, because of how much I dislike this cover. It just makes the story seem very juvenile Plus, it is all matt, except for the title, her eyes, lips, nails and buttons…..it is kind of creepy. Why did her eye’s need to be shiny?!!? I can definitely see why England are releasing this in the American cover. anyway, to the actual review.

I really wasn’t sure about this one when I first started it, but I ended up really liking it. At the start I was thrown by the format. It is told in the format for a transcript of a oral history report. Basically, it’s like a script, but without any scene setting. Or an interview. Once I got my head around reading this, it was good. It was sweet and funny and I may have laughed out loud on a busy train….whoops. I will admit that I wasn’t particularly invested in the story to begin with, but it soon grew on me. It is a very different concept for a story. You are basically just reading the past, with little snippets of the present It is usually the other way around. I wasn’t convinced, but I ended up really liking it.

The main reason why I didn’t love this book at first was because of the character. Particularly Avery. I didn’t like her at the start. At the beginning of this book I thought that she was shallow and immature. For people that are about to graduate high school, they all just seem pretty childish. But as the story went on I ended up liking her more and more. The more you got to know her the more you realised that she is actually very fun and smart and caring and generally a very nice person. She isn’t as shallow as she is portrayed to be at the start of the book. And I found myself really liking her by the end. The same went for a lot of the secondary characters. They all grew on me as the story went on. I particularly liked Hutch. I thought that he was a really good character. I did call the ending for him straight form the off, I just knew it would happen, but I really liked. I was really rooting for it in the end.

Overall I did enjoy this. It wasn’t an incredible book, but it was good. I enjoyed it. It was fun. It was a nice light contemporary, and it was such a different format. I am glad that I decided to give it a go and I think you should too. It was good. Don’t let the cover put you off.

star 44 out of 5

and there we have it. I really did end up liking it. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? Did you hate the cover as much as I did? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

4 thoughts on “Book Review: It’s Not Me, It’s You by Stephanie Kate Strohm

Leave a Reply

