Books

Book Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Hey Guys!

Today it is time for another book review and, amazingly, it is for another recently released book. Today it is all about the third book in the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard, King’s Cage. Let’s do this.

wp-image-2087293061jpg.jpg

If you guys have followed me for a while you will know that I liked Red Queen, I didn’t love it, but I liked it. It was a bit too trope-y for my liking and I didn’t really see what all the hype was about, but it was decent enough. Then I read Glass Sword….and hated it. I really didn’t like it. And the more time that has passed since reading it, the more I have grown to dislike it. It just wasn’t very good. I found it boring, I thought it was slow paced, there where so many characters and abilities introduced that it was impossible to keep up and then so many people where killed off and Mare was so whinny in it….I just hatted it. So much so that I didn’t know if I would even read King’s Cage. But, I eventually decided to give it a go, give it the benefit of the doubt and assume GS was just second book syndrome, and although I didn’t love it, I did enjoy it. I think that King’s Cage was my favourite book from the series so far.

The storyline in this book was a lot better. It wasn’t boring. Although it did have the potential to be, considering the main character was essentially in solitary confinement for the most part. Aveyard managed to keep things interesting She didn’t let things stagnate like they did in Glass Sword. Even when Mare was alone in a locked room, she made sure something was always happening. It also helped that throughout the book we would get a random chapter from Cameron’s POV, breaking the repetitive nature of Mare’s storyline, and keeping us up to date with the Scarlett Guard. This really helped to keep the story moving forward. I also liked that every time POV switched, you would jump forward in time a bit, sometimes a few days, sometimes a couple of months. Again, this really helped to keep the story flowing properly and kept it interesting.

I also liked the characters more in this book. Mare wasn’t the irritating, whinny, brat that she had been in the previous book. I really disliked her in GS. But throughout this book, she was just a very different person. She has become strong and unbreakable. She is fierce again. Fiery. Unwilling to bend to another’s will. She is a fighter again. But she has also become a lot smarted. Less gullible and more calculating. This made for a far more interesting read. It was a lot easier to like her in this book. I also grew to like the secondary characters more. Cal, for instance, doesn’t seem like a spoilt child any-more. Losing Mare clearly changed him, made him grow up and re-asses things. Again, this made him far more likeable I also have grown to really like these two together. For a while when reading this I kept giggling at them. They can be pretty cute together, and I do kind of hope that they end up together.

I even ended up growing fond of a couple of characters that I had previously disliked Cameron (who admittedly I couldn’t remember when I first started reading this), and Evangeline. Both steadily grew on me as I read. I think possibly because we learnt a lot more about both of them, and their back grounds. I don’t know. But I did end up almost likening both of them. Not quiet, but almost.

This book still wasn’t amazing. But it was better then Glass Sword. It was far more engaging and interesting And darker. It does still have irritating tropes in it, but you cant win them all. I am also pretty sure I know how this series is going to end, but I will have to wait and see if I am right. I am just hoping that the fourth and final book is on par with King’s Cage, if not better then it.

star 44 out of 5

I am glad that I decided to give this book the benefit of the doubt. I did end up enjoying it. I still don’t see what all the hype is about with this series. But, it is getting better. Have you read any of this series? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

2 thoughts on “Book Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I’m glad I saw this review because I was debating if I should continue on this series or not. I liked the Red Queen too and heaven knows how irritated I was with Mare in GS. But it seems she has improved in this book so I might consider this. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

