Books

Book Review: I Knew You Were Trouble by Paige Toon

Hey Guys!

I hope that you are having nice weekend. Once again, it is time for another book review. I am really proud of myself for maintaining this level of reading. I haven’t missed a single review so far this year, actually, I haven’t missed a single post at all. Anyway, back to the review. Today I am continuing a series that I started last year. Today it is all about the second book in the Jessie Jefferson series by Paige Toon, I Knew You Were Trouble. Lets go.

wp-image-563346988jpg.jpg

I don’t know why I like these books so much, but I do. They are just very easy books. Yes the general plot line is a kind of generic, but the actual books are good. They are fun and lovable, captivating and just easy. They are the sort of books that you can just breeze through. They are easy to read, easy to get into, easy to love. They are perfect for when you need a lighter read.

Yes, the main storyline is fairly generic and you know how it is going to go. But Toon doesn’t just skim over things. She goes into depth about it all. The good aspects of the events and the bad. She doesn’t glamorize it. That is what I love about these books. The fact that although they are pretty light, they do tackle some pretty difficult topics such as grief, dealing with getting to know a parent, the difficulties of fame and so much more. I love this. It is nice to have both sides in a book.

But the reason why I love these books so much is the characters. Everyone feels very real. You can imagine being friends with these peoples. Jessie is just your normal teenager. She has the same worries that we all did at 15, she is just in a different situation then most of us. The same goes for the rest of the characters. You just know them. They are all so down to earth and realistic. They really make these books. If the characters weren’t so good these books just wouldn’t work. And with this book specificity, I loved how much the characters have grown. It really helps make them feel even more real. All of the characters have just progressed so much. And become even more three dimensional in this book. I cant wait to see how they grow in the next book.

I loved the direction that this book took. I really liked that it focused so much on Jessie. I know they are all told from her POV but the first book was very much centred around what was happening around her, this book was all about her. How she was feeling towards things, how things where effecting her and so on. I really liked this. It helped me connect to the story more. I also liked that the story focused more on the negative side of Jessie’s new life. On the pitfalls of fame and all that. I think that this was nice. It wasn’t glamorized and glossed over. I will admit I wasn’t sold on the whole love triangle thing, but that is probably just me. I hate love triangles as a general rule.

Overall I do really like these books. They have the same easy feel to them that the Girl Online books do. I honestly really hope that Toon writes more of them. I am already excited for the third book. I cant see it being long before I get myself a copy.

star 44 out of 5

I really do like these books. If you ever need a light, easy read, try this series. Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

