Books

Book Review: The One Memory Of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

Hey Guys!

Happy Sunday. I hope that you are all having a nice weekend. It is time for yet another book review. And it is another new release! I am actually reading things close to when they came out, and not two years after. Go me! Lol. Anyway, today’s post is all about The One Memory Of Flora Banks by Emily Barr, lets do this!

wp-image-1976662704jpg.jpg

I have been eagerly awaiting this book for a few months now. An advert for it pop up on YouTube and I instantly knew that I had to read this book. And you know what, I didn’t really like it. I enjoyed the first 50 or so pages, but then I just completely lost interest in it and started to really not enjoy it. I ended up skim reading the second half of it.

The book itself is a really interesting concept. You are reading from the perspective of a 17 year old girl, who remembers everything up until age 10, but cannot remember anything since and cant make new memories. This is a really unique way to read a book. You hear the same thing over and over again, each time a little different. And even though it is repetitive, the story is still moving forward. Its still progressing. It is just a very interesting concept for a book. Its executed well and the book has a lot merit, but I didn’t love it.

I’m not quiet sure why I ended up nearly DNF-ing this one. I just started to feel as if the story was stagnating There where little things that weren’t being explained, and others that felt off and unreal. I don’t know. I think my main issue with it is that couldn’t connect to Flora. I don’t believe that this is because she switched from 10 year old brain, to 17 year old, regularly or because she was repetitive and confused, I actually found this endearing. I just wanted to comfort her. To help her. But I even with that, I felt no true connection to her. The further I got into the book, the less and less that I liked her as a character.

I also the biggest fan of the storylines. Some parts I enjoyed, but others I didn’t For instance, I liked the Flora took control of her life, but I didn’t like the reasons why she did it, or the way in which she did it. I liked the darker undertones to the story, but I didn’t love reasons for them. I flat out hated how almost irresponsible her parents suddenly became. I know there where reasons for it, but it just didn’t fit with what we had already been told about them. It was very much a case of liking an element of the story, but not liking the reasons for/outcome of that element…if that makes sense. I just wasn’t sold on it.

I feel like this is one of those books that you will either completely fall in love with, or end up being completely indifferent about, like I am. I can see the potential in this book, but I wasn’t a massive fan of the story. I am definitely interested in Barr as an author though and I will be keeping an eye on her. She has a lot of potential, and I wish I had cared more for this book.

star 33 out of 5

I really am disappointed that I didn’t love this book. I was looking forward to reading this so much. Have you read this one yet? What do you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

