Books

Book Review: With Malice by Eileen Cook

Hey Guys!

Happy Saturday! It is once again time for another book review. Today it is the turn of a genre that I generally don’t read, it’s a thriller. Today’s book is With Malice by Eileen Cook. Lets dive straight into this.

wp-image-886557966jpg.jpg

I am very torn over this book. I loved the way that it was told, but it didn’t love the story itself and I hated the last couple of chapters. They just raised more questions. Generally speaking the story was pretty interesting Reading a story like this from the perspective of someone that cannot remember the event or the weeks leading up to it was really unusual and I liked it. I liked that you where slowly uncovering bits of the truth along side Jill. It made it really simple to keep up with what was happening. I also loved the way that the story was told. You would have a chapter of the story from post event Jill, as she was recovering and all that shit, and then the next chapter was a mash up of police reports, interviews, media extracts and the likes, all also telling the story form all these different perspectives . I liked this because it shows how in events like the one in this book the truth is twisted by different parties and the story can be manipulated. It was just a very interesting way to tell a story.

What I didn’t like about this was the characters. No-one felt realistic or genuine. The main character you are lead to believe that she is this sweet, intelligent, innocent, caring girl, but if you actually look at her properly she is kind of the spoilt little girl that the media in the story are portraying her to be. I don’t know, I just really didn’t like her. I think that that is why I struggled to get into the book. I also didn’t like the secondary characters. Everyone was just so back stabbing and bitchy. And I don’t know, I just didn’t love it.

I feel like I am being very negative about this book. Ultimately it was a good book, I just personally didn’t love it, but some of that may just be because I generally don’t read/like thrillers. I cant actually remember the last time that I read a thriller. So you know, that may be influencing me a bit. Ultimately it was a good book. It was an interesting concept, it was executed quiet well, it just wasn’t for me.

star 33 out of 5

I am very ‘meh’ about this book. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t particularly like it either. I brought it on impulse and it was okay. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: With Malice by Eileen Cook

Leave a Reply

