Books

Book Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

Hey Guys!

It is that time of the week again, yep, it’s time for another book review. Today I am finishing a trilogy that I started in January. That’s right, today it is all about the last book in the Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner. Here is The Death Cure.

wp-image-1592386009jpg.jpg

Well, I am suitably traumatised. This book was brilliant. It was just so good. Like before, it was very different to its predecessors. That is one of the reasons why I like this trilogy so much. Each book, although all telling the same story, has a very different feel to it. This final book was very different. It actually felt a bit like a cross between Divergent and The Hunger Games. But it was, without a doubt, the perfect way to end this trilogy. It wrapped up the story very well. It answered basically all of my questions and just generally concluded the story perfectly. It had me gripped from the first page, right till the last.
So much happened in this book. It was like the first book in the sense that there wasn’t a dull second. One moment this massive thing was happening, then a minuet later, something entirely different was going on. These books are just so fast paced, I love it. I really liked the direction that this book took. Yes, it was like the conclusion to basically every other Dystopian trilogy, but it worked. The story made me laugh, it made me cry…..more then I would like to admit, it was brilliant. What I loved most was that right up until the last second I wasn’t sure how it would end. I had ideas, but I was left guessing. I will admit for the last like 2 hours of this book I was just thinking ‘shiiiiiiiit, this isn’t going to end how I want it to!!!’ and basically having a break down lol.

I love how much the characters have grown and evolved throughout this trilogy. I’ve way he’d Thomas go from this kid, an outsider, to being this strong leader. Capable of making tough decisions and pushing aside his own feelings/pain for the sake of his friends. He has grown so much as a person. But he has also managed to stay true to himself. He is still him. And the same goes for the secondary characters. Minho, Newt, Brenda and so on. Everyone has developed as characters, but also stayed themselves. I really loved this.

I really don’t know why this series divides people so much. I loved them. I thought that they where so good. I really want to more of this universe. I loved these books so much. They are just so interesting and fast paced. I cannot explain to you how much I love this trilogy. It has shot straight up there with my all time favourites. And this book was the perfect way to wrap up this incredible story.

star 55 out of 5

I cannot recommend this trilogy enough. It is just so good. Why people hate it so much I will never understand. I really loved it. Have you read this trilogy? What did you think about it? Did the thing that happens after the thing with the van traumatise you? Because I may have ended up sitting in the stockroom at work crying…..yea, that wasn’t awkward at all lol. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

