Books

Book Review: A Beastly Tale Trilogy by M J Haag (Depravity, Deceit and Devastation)

Hey Guys!

It’s book review time. Whoop Whoop. Today I am doing something a little bit different. Today I am reviewing an entire trilogy in a single post. I read the trilogy in question a few years ago and decided to re-read it recently since I know I loved it, but couldn’t quiet remember it. The trilogy in question is A Beastly Tale by M Haag.

wp-1486342532570.jpg

I am going to do this in a slightly different way to normal as well. each book will have a condensed review, with then an overall review of the series at the end, if that makes sense. Anyway, without further ado, here is the review.
Firstly, if you didn’t know, this trilogy is a retelling of Beauty and The Beast. But it is quiet adult. There is some sexual content, that does feel kind of wrong at times, there are what really essentially prostitutes, and so on. But anyway, there is so context, let’s get on with this.

I really do love this trilogy. It is brilliant. This series really does deserve more recognition. If you don’t know about this one, it is a retelling of Beauty and The Beast. It is without a doubt an adult retelling. There are a lot of adult topics in this trilogy including sex, violence and a whole other load of stuff. This trilogy puts a really interesting spin on the story and I love them. They are so intense and exciting. They are also the type of books that you just have to read back to back. That is the reason why I decided to review them as a whole as opposed to individual books. They literally pick up straight after each other. And you can tell that originally Haag was writing this trilogy as a stand-alone book.

These books are so good. They are so interesting I openly admit that Beauty and The Beast is my favourite Disney Princess story, so I am always on the look out for amazing retelling of it and I honestly think that this is the best that I have found so far. They put such a different spin on the story, but it still sticks to a lot of the general ideas and traits as the original story. Bell, or Benella, in this story is still this smart, brave, independent young woman who loves books and her father, but in this story she is also so much more. She is selfless and curious, outspoken and caring. She is a wonderful character. As is the Beast, or Alec. In this version of the story the Beast is far more animal then anything else, particularly in the first book. This I one of the things that I love about this trilogy. It really went into the whole Beast side of the story, even putting some major spins on it.

These books deal with some really interesting topics. Bearing in mind that they are set in the past, I’m not quiet sure of the exact time, but it is as you would expect for a Beauty and The Beast retelling. Considering the time period this is a very dark tale. It really incorporates some of the more unsavoury topics that existed at the time. There is extreme poverty, magic, social constraints, lack of women’s rights and so much more. I mean during this book we see attempted rape, abuse, and so much more. You cant help but be pulled into the story. There is always something going on alongside the main storyline.

The first book is probably the best, with the second one close behind. The third book isn’t as great, but it was still good. The second book was very sexual. There where some quiet uncomfortable feeling scenes during this one, but generally speaking it was still enjoyable enough. I think the reason why I didn’t love the last book as much was because it was a very different story to the first two. Plus, the story was a little bit tedious in the final book, but it was still good. Generally speaking these books are brilliant. I love these books. This entire trilogy is so good. If you love Beauty and The Beast, and are an adult, you will love this trilogy, plus, you can get the first book as an e-book for free through amazon. If that’s not incentive to give this trilogy a try, then I don’t know what is.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I really do love these books. I am so glad that I decided to reread these books. I had honestly forgotten just how good they are. I got through the entire trilogy in just over 24 hours. They are that good. I love them. I really need to buy physical copies of them. These books really do deserve more recognition. Have you read these ones? What did you think about them? Have you got any Beauty and The Beast retelling recommendations for me? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

