Books

Book Review: Wonder by R J Palacio

Hey Guys!

Welcome back to my blog. Since it is Saturday, it is once again time for another book review. This week it is the turn of a book that has been on my want to read list for about 3 years now. Today, it is all about Wonder by R J Palacio. Lets do this.

I’m not sure why I have put off reading this book for so long, it is possibly because it is a middle grade book, which is a category that I generally don’t read very often, but I really wish that I had read this sooner. It is very good. I went into this one knowing the general storyline of it, but even knowing basically everything that would happen (I read a spoiler-y review for it last year by accident), I still really enjoyed it. It took me a while to get into, which is generally one of the reasons why I don’t read a lot of middle grade books, but once I was into it I feel like I got through it really quickly. I listened to this as an audiobook which I think was the right call for me, but I did I have a slight issue with it. It was read by like half a dozen different people, each perspective was a different reader, but for some reason, August was voiced by a women, despite the fact that all the other boys in the story where read by men. I don’t know why this bothers me, but it does. If you are going to have the voice match the character for some people, do it for everyone.

Anyway, I digress, the actual storyline of this book was very interesting It really did make me think back to how I was at 11 years old. (for those interested, I was a little shit). It made me wonder what my reaction to August would have been. It was very thought provoking. As for the general storyline, I loved the way it was told. You would get a chunk of story by one POV, then it would switch to someone else in the story and you would hear it from them and then it would switch again and so on. What really worked was each time it switched POV the new voice didn’t just carry on with the story. They kind of briefly told you it again from the start, and then progressed it a bit more, then it would switch over and the new person would do the same. This just worked perfectly for this book because it made it very easy to see the full story. It was so well rounded. You weren’t just seeing it through the main character. I honestly really liked the way that this was done.

This book was so well executed It was well rounded and interesting and contained some very important messages, particularity for children. It teaches acceptance, and kindness, to never judge someone by their appearance and so much more. It is one of those books that I feel as if every child should read at some point. I will admit that I did personally find aspects of this book slow-paced and predictable, but I am pretty sure that is purely because I am an adult reading a book intended for children aged 8 to 12. but, regardless of that, I am very glad that I have finally read this book. I already know that I will be buying this for several children in my family for Christmas/birthdays.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

This is honestly such a breathtaking book. It is just stunning. I can definitely see why this won so many awards and is so highly praised. It truly is a beautiful book. I really hope that the film of this is going to do it justice. Have you read this one? What did you think of it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Wonder by R J Palacio

Leave a Reply

