Books

Book Review: Demigods And Magicians by Rick Riordan

Hey Guys!

It is time for yet another book review! This week it is the turn of a series of short stories, about some of my all time favourite characters. Yep, I am off course talking about Demigods And Magicians by Rick Riordan. Lets do this!

2017-01-21-21.13.59.png.png

First things first, I wouldn’t recommend reading this before reading The Kane Chronicles (Obviously), but also both Percy Jackson And The Olympians AND Hero’s Of Olympus. I haven’t read HoO yet, so there where several references in this book that went straight over my head. But, that being said, I still really really enjoyed it. I loved seeing these two worlds collide. I love them both so much, and I think that they worked so well together They just merged perfectly.

So this book contained three short stories, all following the same base storyline. The first, The Son Of Sobek, was told from Carter Kane’s POV as he meets Percy Jackson and battles a monster with him. The Second, The Staff Of Serapis, follows Annabeth, and is told from her POV, as she meets Sadie and, battles a monster. The third and final book, The Crown Of Ptolemy, is the result of the first two stories and features all four of our heroes dealing with shit that is going down and is told from Percy’s POV. So as you can see, this book had a lot going on. I personally found it to be a good filler while I wait to read HoO, even if it wasn’t ideal lol.

I loved this book, not just because it was great to see characters that I love again, but also because it made me realise how similar they are. Sadie and Percy, Annabeth and carter. Each pair have such similar traits and I just love them. Together they are perfect. I really do like them. I think that they complement each other perfectly and I think that they make an incredible fighting team. I really hope that Riordan does something else with the four of them.

I also really liked the storyline of this book. It was really interesting These two worlds colliding was just so inspired and well done. I wasn’t expecting it to work as well as it did. Something about it just worked. The story was just so imaginative and brilliant. I think that these stories could very easily been woven into a full on book, but I did like the way that it was done. It worked well as a story collection. It was also nice to find out what happened after The Kane Chronicles, particularly with the whole Setne. That has always bugged me lol.

Overall this was a really nice little book. I really enjoyed it and I think it is a must have for any die-hard Rick Riordan fan. It was super interesting and inspired and it was so nice to get a little bit more on these characters that we love.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

And there we have it. That is what I thought of Demigods And Magicians. Have you read this one? What did you think about it? I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

One thought on “Book Review: Demigods And Magicians by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

