Books

Book Review: City Of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Hey Guys!

Welcome back! I hope that you are all having a lovely Sunday Since it is the weekend it is time for another book review. Today it is the turn of City Of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. Yes, I couldn’t resist picking it up straight after the first book lol. Lets do this.

Why have I put of reading this series for so long?!? it is so good. I admit that I didn’t love this book quiet as much as the first, but it was still so fucking brilliant. This world that Cassandra Clare has created is just completely and utterly incredible. Besides J K Rowling, I don’t think that I have ever encountered an another that knows their world so well. It is just staggering.

I loved that this book picked up pretty much straight after the first book finished. Only a few days had past. I feel like this one of the reasons why this series works so well. Everything is very fast paced and is happening over quiet a shorty space of time. It just works perfectly. Sometimes when books do this they rushed or underdeveloped, these books don’t They are just so well rounded it is just brilliant. I will admit that I did find a few bits of City Of Ashes a little bit tedious and I did have to struggle through them, but for the most part it was interesting and exciting and just wonderful I really do love these books.

The storyline in this one was great. I think it really stepped it up from the first book. Particularly in the darker aspects of it. But what I loved most was the character development. Considering that such a short space of time has passed since we meet these people, they have all grown so much. Clary is almost unrecognisable The same goes for Simon. They have both grown and adapted to this world very well. I cant wait to see how they develop as the series continues. I also love that Jace is starting to realise how much others care about him and actually care a bit about what happens to him. He really does remind me of Will for Infernal Devices in this aspect. But then, lot of the characters do. It is so easy to see who is related to who, even people who’s lineage isn’t known yet. And don’t even get me started on Magnus. I cant wait for the trilogy based around him now lol.

I just don’t know how anyone can dislike these books. They are full of action and drama and excitement. There is mystery and murder. Love and war. Some really fucking hilarious moments. I honestly this “That you freed a possible criminal by trading away your brother to a warlock who looks like a gay Sonic the Hedgehog and dresses like the Child Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang?” is my all time favourite quote from a book. I had to put it down, I was laughing so hard. I honestly cannot wait to read the rest of this series.

star 4.54.5 out of 5

I actually have no fucking clue why I waited so long to read these books. I have had City Of Bones on my shelf for nearly 4 years! God, I regret waiting so much lol. Oh well. I hope that you have enjoyed today’s post and I will see you all again soon.

signature_wl200mfepv0gawe2fj

Leave a Reply

